Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26. Jul 2010, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 277
Default Xporting XP

I have a question about imaging XP, I was woundering if i have a un-activated version of Xp on my computer, Fully updated it, made registry tweaks and installed certain programs like FireFox ect, Installed some common drives then made a Image of XP still un-activated could i use it as a reinstallation disc on other computers?
__________________
If it ain't broke don't fix it, improve it, break it then fix it
systemcrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Jul 2010, 05:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Full Member
 
mistywindow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Whanganui, New Zealand
Posts: 33
Default

Yes, but only if the other machines have exactly the same hardware.
You can do it without the same hardware but it's arguably messy. You'll need to uninstall/install different drivers. You end up with something that's not a clean install.

mistywindow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jul 2010, 09:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

Try dis

http://www.howtohaven.com/system/cre...etupdisk.shtml

i havent tried it myself though
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jul 2010, 01:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Hi,
The tutorial of the link provided by Av_Crazy works.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jul 2010, 03:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

Coool .. i dint knew
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Jul 2010, 09:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 277
Default

Av_Crazy: Thanks for the link although i had already come across it and made the cd it works fine. Its not quite what im after.

I made tweaks to my system that work such as moving program files, The Documents and settings folder ect. And certain registry tweaks to make my computer fast at shutting down and hardening against hacks ect.

My computer uses 3 Partitions. I have tried usig Nlite but when it comes to intergrating the hotfixes and certain programs i want installed over multiple computers it consistantly fails on me.

So i thought of making it simpler by by installing all the updates, and programs and make a full image of my drives and partitions with the registry tweaks, then when i go to restore a computer all i would have to do is get it to restore the complete image, Then it will make the partitions size them and install everything. The only thing i would have to do is resize the paritions if there bigger then the size of the imaged one. and check for updates to the programs and hotfixes that installed.

I wernt to sure of driver packs and what ones i would need to make sure it could install on most systems, so i thought id check here.

mistywindow: I know it would make it a slightly messy install but at least i wouldnt have to spend hours modifying the registry, installing all XP's Updates. All i would have to do is clean the system.


Thanks for the replies
__________________
If it ain't broke don't fix it, improve it, break it then fix it
systemcrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Aug 2010, 01:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Default

@systemcrash
you mean like this ?
cheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Aug 2010, 08:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheep View Post
@systemcrash
you mean like this ?
The link which you provided does not work. The site does not open.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Aug 2010, 11:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

It is opening Anupam
__________________
Vivek
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Aug 2010, 11:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Strange. For some reason, the site does not open at my end.
I also checked with http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/ , and yes, its down only for me . I don't get it.

Anyways, thanks for checking it up.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.