Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17. Jul 2010, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 27
Default Problems with google website.

Is there any problem with google website? I am unable to access gmail. It takes me to a page telling me it's risky to load that page. Also the search engine of google is not working properly and i cannot access the search settings either. Is this another way of Microsoft denying users google content? I have windows 7, vista and xp Os and have tried to access google on each of them.

Thank you
cleanclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jul 2010, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

I am able to access Gmail and Google without any problems. Which browser are you using?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jul 2010, 05:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
I am able to access Gmail and Google without any problems. Which browser are you using?
Firefox 3.6.6. I have tried to access gmail from I.E8 too but it says the website is risky.
cleanclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jul 2010, 05:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

That's strange. I am using Firefox 3.6.6 too, and not having any problems at all. Did you check the URL to look for any signs of phishing, or a bad URL? Did you recently make any change in your internet settings, or somewhere? If this persists, ask your ISP about it. I can't think of anything else.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jul 2010, 05:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
That's strange. I am using Firefox 3.6.6 too, and not having any problems at all. Did you check the URL to look for any signs of phishing, or a bad URL? Did you recently make any change in your internet settings, or somewhere? If this persists, ask your ISP about it. I can't think of anything else.
i try to access gmail from google search engine which is the default engine of firefox. I first thought it was a virus or backdoor. But i am using avira uptodate antivirus. If i go to the site which is "untrusted". Where can i check my operating system for backdoors or any infections online?
cleanclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jul 2010, 06:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 395
Default

No problem here either. Just typed gmail.com in the omnibar of Chrome and hit enter. Logged in.
vasa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jul 2010, 06:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

cleanclover, why do you access Gmail from Google search? You can access it directly by the URL : mail.google.com. That is how I access it. You can bookmark it for easier access. I am still not able to understand why its causing problems for you. Can you post some screenshots of problems with Firefox and IE?

Also, are you using the WOT add-on with Firefox, or IE? I would recommend that you use it. It will alert you for fraudulent, or malicious sites.

If you are asking for an online scan of your PC, you can do so with TrendMicro HouseCall :

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

I hope this was what you were asking for.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jul 2010, 06:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,325
Default

Actually, there has been a number of reports recently of people having trouble accessing Google or their Gmail accounts. It appears to be a fairly widespread issue.

I know that for me, accessing Gmail is very slow. This isn't a new thread, but it has very recent replies:

http://www.google.com/support/forum/...7c49f9b3&hl=en
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jul 2010, 06:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
cleanclover, why do you access Gmail from Google search? You can access it directly by the URL : mail.google.com. That is how I access it. You can bookmark it for easier access. I am still not able to understand why its causing problems for you. Can you post some screenshots of problems with Firefox and IE?

Also, are you using the WOT add-on with Firefox, or IE? I would recommend that you use it. It will alert you for fraudulent, or malicious sites.

If you are asking for an online scan of your PC, you can do so with TrendMicro HouseCall :

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

I hope this was what you were asking for.
Thank you Anupam for the trendmicro link.
I get the same message whether i try to login from google search or by typing "gmail.com" in the url box. Here is what i get:
"This Connection is Untrusted
You have asked Firefox to connect
securely to www.google.com, but we can't confirm that your connection is secure.
Normally, when you try to connect securely,
sites will present trusted identification to prove that you are
going to the right place. However, this site's identity can't be verified.

What Should I Do?


If you usually connect to
this site without problems, this error could mean that someone is
trying to impersonate the site, and you shouldn't continue."


This has started happening since yesterday.
cleanclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Jul 2010, 07:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,277
Default

cleanclover, I think it might be good if you ran some scans on your computer. Its a possibility that your computer might be infected. So, until your scans come clean, I would advise not to access the Google sites. I think you must have already done a scan with Avira antivirus. I would suggest running scans with MalwareBytes Antimalware and SuperAntispyware.

I would also suggest to run an online scan with TrendMicro HouseCall. I have found its scanner to be excellent. It may run for a long time, so you will have to be patient.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.