Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05. Jul 2010, 11:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Default Window 7 on an XP machine

I have an XP machine with a program program installed which works under XP. I want to install windows 7 on that computer but I want to work under XP my program as it cannot be re-installed. Is there some way, I can put Windows 7 on that machine and keep my windows XP
bernardz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Jul 2010, 01:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Full Member
 
mistywindow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Whanganui, New Zealand
Posts: 33
Default

The satisfactory answer depends upon the specs of the machine. Most XP machines would not have sufficient RAM/CPU power to run Windows 7 in a virtual machine. Your best bet would probably be to dual boot XP and Windows 7. The down-side is that you'd only have access to your program when you were booted into XP.

If dual booting is acceptable, I would add a second HDD to run Windows 7 on. You don't have to, you can have them on the same drive if there's enough space on the drive, but it would be a "cleaner" setup and you'd be able to have separate boot sectors.

What are the specs? HDD size, RAM, CPU? graphics card?
mistywindow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Jul 2010, 03:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Editor
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Default dual booting

I was thinking of this exactly the only problem is when I start the machine, I have to keep going into the bios to change the boot drive.

Is there any better way for dual booting?


Note the machine is powerful enough.
bernardz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Jul 2010, 07:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Full Member
 
mistywindow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Whanganui, New Zealand
Posts: 33
Default

On most motherboards there's a keyboard shortcut at boot which enables drive selection- F12 is a common one. Although if it's an old motherboard that facility may not be available.

If your motherboard doesn't have that facility you'd have to install Windows 7 to dual-boot on the same drive as XP. That's easy to do. Windows 7 installation routine will give you the options.

If you don't have installation discs for the program you're concerned about you should make an image of your HDD before and after making any changes.
mistywindow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Jul 2010, 11:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Maybe this article will be of help -
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...dows-7-xp.html
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Jul 2010, 11:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,323
Default

I think it would be good to check first, whether your machine will be able to run Windows 7 or not. You should check it with the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor :

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

Here is its description :

Quote:
Download and run the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor to see if your PC is ready for Windows 7. It scans your hardware, devices, and installed programs for known compatibility issues, gives you guidance on how to resolve potential issues found, and recommends what to do before you upgrade.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Jul 2010, 12:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danjmilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Steeler Nation Capitol
Posts: 127
Default

bernardz,

If you are going to go Win 7 get Win 7 Professional and install your XP programs and you can run them in compatibility mode the best of both worlds, and not that many dollars more.

Dan
danjmilos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Jul 2010, 01:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 183
Default

As danjmilos said, Win7 Professional will come with XP mode (VM)....you can install all your XP programs there and than close XP (hibernate)...the icons for programs installed in XP would show up in Win7, you can run those programs without opening XP VM (In VMWare term-"Unity"). Though as Anupam pointed out - first check the hardware compatibility - if its just meeting the base line standard - then I recommend you don't go for Win7.
__________________
Relativity applies to physics, not ethics...
tushR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Jul 2010, 04:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Full Member
 
mistywindow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Whanganui, New Zealand
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tushR View Post
As danjmilos said, Win7 Professional will come with XP mode (VM)....you can install all your XP programs there and than close XP (hibernate)....
Unfortunately, Bernardz stated in the question that the program can't be re-installed. Which is why i suggested he create an image before messing with his installation.

mistywindow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Jul 2010, 03:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistywindow View Post
Unfortunately, Bernardz stated in the question that the program can't be re-installed. Which is why i suggested he create an image before messing with his installation.

Oh! Yes, you are right, i miss read his query.
One way of fixing this is - install VMWare Workstation (Trial) - it has inbuilt converter, convert the original machine into VM, then use this VM in VMWare player (free) .
__________________
Relativity applies to physics, not ethics...
tushR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.