Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28. Jun 2010, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 11
Default Windows XP won't connect to internet.

I recently moved to a new apartment and brought my desktop PC with me. I recently reinstalled Windows XP onto it, and it's been running very well since then. After I had Comcast install my internet a few days later, I hooked it up to my desktop with no problems. I originally had a wired router try to split the connection between my desktop and laptop, but gave up on that and just had the modem plugged directly into the desktop.

It worked fine for a few days, the only quirk being that I sometimes got the error message "A network cable is unplugged" before it would almost-instantly reconnect to the internet. Then a couple of days ago, my desktop wouldn't connect to the internet at all. In Network Connections, I notice that it gets up to "Acquiring Network Address...." and eventually I get hit with a "Limited or no connectivity" message. I originally thought it was the modem itself, but my laptop, running Windows 7, connects perfectly.

I tried Winsockfix, but that only worked for a few hours before I was hit with the same problem. I cleaned out my registry, ran antivirus/antimalware scans, disabled Windows Firewall, and manually reset the TCP/IP stack and my Winsock entries, but nothing has worked. I've checked the driver in Device Manager, but it says that there isn't a problem.

What else can I do?
Timecrash is offline  
Old 29. Jun 2010, 12:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Trying updating the driver from the manufacturer's site.
J_L is offline  
Old 29. Jun 2010, 12:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 11
Default

Repaired the driver via the latest version on the website, then tried to uninstall and reinstall it. Still nothing.
Timecrash is offline  
Old 29. Jun 2010, 11:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,244
Default

Bear in mind that when I was servicing customers the hardware stuff was always done by my partner but I remember him saying once that sometimes a motherboard can "burn" over time where the modem connects to it. I've seen this on desktops which often have a spare slot, and simply relocating the modem into the second connection solves the issue.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline  
Old 29. Jun 2010, 12:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,315
Default

Maybe its just a matter of loose connection. Try putting the cables firmly, to modem, to computer etc. If that does not solve the problem, complain to your ISP, so that they can send someone over to see. It looks more like an external problem to me. I have a cable internet here at home, and sometimes loose connections, or a problem with the power line, can cause such problems. Better to try simple thing first .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now  
Old 29. Jun 2010, 04:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 11
Default

After opening up my computer, I found that my ethernet port is part of a little hub on my motherboard, also connecting two USB ports. Unfortunately, there's no way to move that as far as I can tell. I also made sure the ethernet cable was connected snugly while the computer was open, and there's no change. Thank you for all your help so far!
Timecrash is offline  
Old 29. Jun 2010, 05:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 11
Default

I ended up contacting my ISP, and the tech sent some kind of signal to my modem. Apparently, that made my desktop able to connect to the internet again. But, thank you for all your suggestions!
Timecrash is offline  
Old 29. Jun 2010, 06:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timecrash View Post
I ended up contacting my ISP, and the tech sent some kind of signal to my modem. Apparently, that made my desktop able to connect to the internet again. But, thank you for all your suggestions!
Great to hear your problem was solved . I think it was a problem with the internet connection from the ISP end. If the message is "A network cable is unplugged", then most likely it is an external problem, or problem with the line. If however, the connection status shows connected, and still the internet is not working... then it may be a problem within the computer. But again, it can be a problem with the line, or from the ISP end. So, its better to consult with ISP first, before taking any further steps to diagnose problem within the system.

This is what I have learned over these years .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.