Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28. Jun 2010, 05:45 AM   #11 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Unhappy Back to square 1

Hi guys
Sorry it took me so long to get back here. My router went down, I guess it got hit by lightning, so I had no internet conection for a while.
Well, I guess I celebrated to soon and I'm back to sqare 1 or 2. In my windows 98 I did not have the rght video driver, I guess, it only gave me 16 and 2 and I needed 256. I contacted copaq but they no longer have drivers for this old thing and I could not find them anywhere else. So I tried windows 2000 but I have no audio, just my luck. So I tried the puppy 5 iso but I can't get that to work eather. It loads up fine but when it gets to desktop everyhthing freezzes up and I can do anthing. I'm about ready to pull my hair out There has got to be a way to get this thing to work right again.
It's a compaq presario 1200xl110 with 3.5 gig hdd and 60 mgs of ram. It's got a cd-rom, usb and flopy drive. It's a nice little computer just a little old, like me, lol. I don't know much else about it and don'y know how to find more out since I don't have a manual for it.
Please help me again if you can.
Thanks so much.

Last edited by soraya1sasha; 28. Jun 2010 at 05:59 AM.
soraya1sasha is offline  
Old 28. Jun 2010, 06:07 AM   #12 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soraya1sasha View Post
Hi guys
Sorry it took me so long to get back here. My router went down, I guess it got hit by lightning, so I had no internet conection for a while.
Well, I guess I celebrated to soon and I'm back to sqare 1 or 2. In my windows 98 I did not have the rght video driver, I guess, it only gave me 16 and 2 and I needed 256. I contacted copaq but they no longer have drivers for this old thing and I could not find them anywhere else. So I tried windows 2000 but I have no audio, just my luck. So I tried the puppy 5 iso but I can't get that to work eather. It loads up fine but when it gets to desktop everyhthing freezzes up and I can do anthing. I'm about ready to pull my hair out There has got to be a way to get this thing to work right again.
It's a compaq presario 1200xl110 with 3.5 gig hdd and 60 mgs of ram. It's got a cd-rom, usb and flopy drive. It's a nice little computer just a little old, like me, lol. I don't know much else about it and don'y know how to find more out since I don't have a manual for it.
Please help me again if you can.
Thanks so much.
Try Damn Small Linux. It's even lighter than Puppy, but isn't being developed anymore.
J_L is offline  
Old 28. Jun 2010, 10:22 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,315
Default

If you know the model number of the computer, you can search for drivers on the manufacturer's site... if they are still available. I think they should be. It originally came with Windows 98? If yes, then you can just download the drivers, and install them. Otherwise, just note down the specifications of your computer from the manufacturer's site, for that model number.

Like... I think your computer is a Compaq Presario, then you can go to Compaq's site, and search for the model number of your PC. The specifications must be there for that model number. If not on Compaq site, then you can search on Google. Some sites still hold the specifications for old models. Once you get specifications, you will know what video or audio hardware you have on your computer. Then you can search for the drivers. You should try the Compaq site first for the drivers, since its advisable to get it from the manufacturer's site. If not available there, then you should look elsewhere. If you post the specifications of audio and video hardware here, we can help too.

If Windows 98 CD which you are using, came with it originally, then I think a driver CD should also be there... or drivers must be on that CD itself?

Puppy should have worked. I don't know why it did not. I had an old system which came with Win98. Puppy worked superbly on that. Anyways, good luck .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline  
Old 29. Jun 2010, 04:02 AM   #14 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Default

Hi there
I hve bin to compaq and they don't have the drivers anymore since this thing is to old. That's what they told me via email. J.L. told me to try damn small linux and I can get it to run just nut to stay on the computer. I have tried several dfferent ways but it just will not do it. but hey atleast i was able to find out a little bit more about the computer and I got to play cards and won. LOL.
Ok, this is what I found out, if it makes any since most of it didn't make any to me.
I think it's a AMD-K6 3 D prossor 473.2 MHz. cache size 64 KB, PIPC Bus Master IDE, USB 1.1 controller, Multimedia audio controller, Communication controller Agere System 56K WinModem, Card Bus Bridge Texas Instroment, PCI 121, VGA Comp cont Trident Microsys CyberBlade, CD Rom Toshiba XM-700 2 B SCSI 24x cd/rw, BIOS Version 1.2 Flags 0x23 Driver 1.16, Via MVP$ Chipset, Memory 60 M 278 MB/s.
I sure wish i could understand all that stuff but I don't. I would not even begin to know2 where to look for drivers for this thing since compaq don't have them any more. So I would really appreciate it if there is something that you guys could find out for me. I'm determent to get this thing working, Im just clad taht I don't have to take it apart, witch I was in the proess of when I got themessage from J.L. about the damn small linux, already had the screews out ot it.lol.
So thanks so much to you guys for sticking with me.
soraya1sasha is offline  
Old 29. Jun 2010, 01:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,315
Default

Thanks for the details soraya1sasha... that was good . One more thing, how much hard disk space are you having?

Also, please tell the model number of this compaq PC that you are having. That will help in locating it, and the drivers needed.

I haven't used Damn Small Linux, but if you want to install it on your computer via the CD, then there must be an option to do so. One who knows about it might be able to tell... or you can try its forum.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline  
Old 29. Jun 2010, 04:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Thanks for the details soraya1sasha... that was good . One more thing, how much hard disk space are you having?

Also, please tell the model number of this compaq PC that you are having. That will help in locating it, and the drivers needed.

I haven't used Damn Small Linux, but if you want to install it on your computer via the CD, then there must be an option to do so. One who knows about it might be able to tell... or you can try its forum.
Oops I knew there was something that I missed. I think it said the it's a 6.048 gig ATA Hitachi.DK 239A-6 hdd and it's a Compaq Presario 1200-xl110. at.least I think that's right.

I tried to install Damn Small Linux several times by following the instructions on the screen with no luck. Then I tried puppy 2.1 and that didn't work right eather for some reason. But it could be that I did something wrong there or because it was 3:00 in the morning and I couldn't see staraight, lol. My tough pad just wasnot working right.

Anyway I went too the puppy 4.3 and it seems to be working the best so far, don't nake since to me since I couldn't get the 2.1 to work right?
It let me do the pup.save.2fs file and actualy saved it. I go to puppy Universal installer, go to Iinternal Ide or sata hard drive, click to the hard drive to install it to, Then it goes to : Here is what Puppy found, No partition on drive sda so I click on GParted. There is showes me my hard drive, unallocated 6.4. So I click on it and click on new then it shows me make new Partition, so I have tried to make and ext2 and and an linux-swap partition of 512 mb and the rest in the ext2 but it keeps giving me an errer, just simply saying that it can't be done it or something like that. Sorry I forgot to wright it down but I will try again yust as soon as I send this.
Thank again for all your trying to do for me.
soraya1sasha is offline  
Old 29. Jun 2010, 04:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,315
Default

Thanks again for the details soraya1sasha. I will try to find out if there are drivers available for that model number. I will get back when I find anything.

If you are having problems installing Puppy Linux... then please post about it in our Linux forum. We have many Linux users on the forum who will be able to help you with that .

Looking at the size of your hard disk, and also the RAM, I think it would be better if you install Puppy Linux on your computer, because its small, yet it will give a power packed performance. Good luck .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.