Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31. Mar 2010, 02:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

I did some more checking and by all references I could find there is not a option to disable the on-board graphics in your bios. It should happen automatically when the card is plugged in. So there is probably some other problem. It is hard to say what though.

Try these things.
1. Your video card has two digital outputs. Try both.
2. Your LCD Monitor probably has a menu button. If you have a newer monitor somewhere there is probably an choice to change input type. If your monitor supports DVI and then make sure you have DVI not VGA selected.
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Mar 2010, 02:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

Quote:
OK, I've downloaded the manual for your mobo.

This part of the BIOS section looks promising :-

Advanced > chipset > internal graphics > primary video controller > display device priority
Good show Sope! That might help with this problem. I could find no other references to it. When all else fails read the manual? I was taught real men don't read manuals.
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Mar 2010, 03:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ritho View Post
When all else fails read the manual? I was taught real men don't read manuals.
I think it's just we don't like to admit we need a manual
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Mar 2010, 07:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Ok, we'll try these things and get back to ya about what worked or if nothing worked or whatever.
Daorack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Mar 2010, 08:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

When you get to the stage of installing the ATI drivers this is an excellent guide on how to go about it.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Apr 2010, 12:14 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

none of those things worked. I helped her put a contact thing in with asus themselves, if they are unable to help us resolve the matter, we'll try the graphics card manufacturer, if thats a no go, then chances are its DOA.

I will post the results here nonetheless so that the next poor sap with this problem has a solution to read.


I appreciate all of you trying to help. Thank you very much.

In the mean time, if anyone has further suggestions, I'm all eyes.
Daorack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Apr 2010, 10:11 AM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Yes, please let us know the outcome.
Good luck with it.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Apr 2010, 06:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Okay, they replied, and we'v tried everything they want us to try. We are going to send it back in as DOA and wait for the replacement card and try again. Hopefully this solves it.

I will update when that happens and let you all know if it just turned out to be DOA.

Again I very much appreciate the help.
Daorack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.