Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22. Mar 2010, 09:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,325
Default

You have a whole host of options in terms of using FEBE. You can use it to back up about anything within Firefox. It can backup themes, add-ons, bookmarks, cookies, cache, profiles, etc. You can choose which items (or all) you want to backup.

Personal story:
As some of you know, my main computer is down for at least 2 weeks. I've had to go to a backup, backup computer that is almost 10 years old and only has 512 RAM in it. It does run WinXP. Because I used FEBE to backup everything and saved my FEBE backup file (including the Febe program) to my external HD, I was able to use FEBE to make my FF identical on this old machine to what my normal computer was. All of my themes, add-ons, bookmarks, passwords, everything were imported onto this old machine in a matter of 30 seconds or so. So, while this machine is as slow as molasses, it has everything I need on it (in terms of FF).
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Mar 2010, 09:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,275
Default

Great example kendall. I do the same, when I uninstall Firefox. I take backup with FEBE. Then I install Firefox, and it takes only few seconds to restore the bookmarks, extensions, and other settings back. I have now started to take daily scheduled backup with FEBE, to be more safe.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Mar 2010, 12:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default RE

Firefox has odd design choices, which will slow down overall web speed. There's an add-on which will automatically make adjustments that will speed it up. You can easily install add-ons, and it'll make your browsing much faster!
kristain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Mar 2010, 12:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kristain View Post
Firefox has odd design choices, which will slow down overall web speed.
Explain more please? What kind of odd design choices?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kristain View Post
There's an add-on which will automatically make adjustments that will speed it up. You can easily install add-ons, and it'll make your browsing much faster!
Which add-on are you talking about?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Mar 2010, 10:03 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Explain more please? What kind of odd design choices?
I would luv to hear what he/she means by this?


Quote:
Which add-on are you talking about?
Probably means fasterfox.There are a few versions of it.It changes settings that u would normally have to do in hidden prefs 'about config'
I use eladkarako mod at mo.Can choose different levels of 'soup up'

Last edited by rover3500; 24. Mar 2010 at 10:05 AM.
rover3500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Mar 2010, 04:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Here is one add-on that works pretty well..

Speedyfox....
http://speedyfox.en.softonic.com/
fastfreddie1959 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Sep 2010, 05:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.L. View Post
Try Safe Mode: Start Menu > Mozilla Firefox > Mozilla Firefox (Safe Mode)
Checkmark "Disable all add-ons" and "Reset toolbars and controls".

Then see if it's still slow. Please report back your results.
I am having FF load very slowly, too, so I tried doing this. But I thought when you said "Try Safe Mode," you meant Windows' safe mode, so I did F8s, which led me nowhere. I had no idea FF had its own safe mode.

Then, I tried to do what you said, only after summoning FF's safe mode. For whatever reason, my desktop still looks as if it's in semi-safe mode. The bottom bar is gray, like in previous editions of windows (I'm using Vista 32 Home Fabulous version). Lots of things are white that should be in color. When I check "Disable all add-ons" and "Reset toolbars and controls," and click, I get (Not Responding). I've tried it over and over, and it just keeps doing that.

I am truly unhappy. Can someone help me, please?

TIA.
Jay F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Sep 2010, 06:22 PM   #18 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay F View Post
I am having FF load very slowly, too, so I tried doing this. But I thought when you said "Try Safe Mode," you meant Windows' safe mode, so I did F8s, which led me nowhere. I had no idea FF had its own safe mode.

Then, I tried to do what you said, only after summoning FF's safe mode. For whatever reason, my desktop still looks as if it's in semi-safe mode. The bottom bar is gray, like in previous editions of windows (I'm using Vista 32 Home Fabulous version). Lots of things are white that should be in color. When I check "Disable all add-ons" and "Reset toolbars and controls," and click, I get (Not Responding). I've tried it over and over, and it just keeps doing that.

I am truly unhappy. Can someone help me, please?

TIA.
It seems possible that Norton was causing Firefox to load slowly when I turned on the computer. But now I'm stuck in what looks like Safe Mode. The bottom bar is white instead of blue (I have Vista), and most pages are mostly white.

Does anyone know how to fix this?

TIA.
Jay F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Sep 2010, 06:31 PM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Hi,
Glad that the initial issue has been resolved.
But for anyone interested, ghacks posted links to some Firefox custom builds over a year ago. Most of them are being actively supported (it's easy to tell). A search may turn up a few more.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Sep 2010, 06:58 PM   #20 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 26Dolphins View Post
Hi,
Glad that the initial issue has been resolved.
But for anyone interested, ghacks posted links to some Firefox custom builds over a year ago. Most of them are being actively supported (it's easy to tell). A search may turn up a few more.
Are you talking about my initial issue?

I went to that site by ghacks, and didn't really understand it. It seems to promote something, "custom builds," then quickly acknowledges the fact that these custom builds may contain "malicious code." Not a ringing endorsement even if I did understand little but this.

Do you know how I can get my computer back to looking normal? Changing display settings wasn't the fix I'm looking for. From what I've gleaned, i.e., Googled, my computer only looks like it's in safe mode, and probably isn't.

Nearly everything is white, and very two dimensional looking. But everything is the right size, as opposed to the larger safe mode look.
Jay F is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.