Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07. Mar 2010, 07:59 AM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.L. View Post
You can use XP mode with full license on Vmware Player by following this article: http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/10911...irtualization/
The performance will be much better.
Is this a way to get around the driver issue on a 64 bit OS? I'm amazed by the boost in performance statement.

PS: Outstanding article

Cheers
Wdhpr

Last edited by wdhpr; 07. Mar 2010 at 08:07 AM.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Mar 2010, 08:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Oh believe me, it's definitely better.

Pinball LAGS for heaven's sake on Virtual PC. My hardware isn't bad, it's 2.3 ghz dual core, 4 gb ram, 2 tb RAID, and 512 mb Radeon.
As for VMware, it works fine. Its performance is flawless, while in Virtual PC I noticed a slight lag with my mouse movement.

As for driver issue on 64-bit, I don't know what you mean, but VMware works perfectly fine on my Windows 7 Professional 64-bit.

Last edited by J_L; 07. Mar 2010 at 08:20 AM.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Mar 2010, 08:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
As for driver issue on 64-bit, I don't know what you mean, but VMware works perfectly fine on my Windows 7 Professional 64-bit.
This is what I meant
Device drivers run in parallel to the operating system. Emulation is done at the operating system level, and is available to its higher layer: the application. Therefore, it is not possible to install a 32 bit device driver on a 64 bit operating system.

Cheers
Wdhpr
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Mar 2010, 09:17 AM   #14 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,367
Default

Seems everything's been answered now already

The reason in fact I chose Ultimate was the ability to change the OS language.
Might be wrong but I don't think this is an option for the lesser versions. Here, very little is available in English but 150MB download later after updating at install and now it is!
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Mar 2010, 01:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

I've recently upgraded to a new system and went for Win7 x64 Home Premium
(cost of the OS was a consideration, hence HP, along with the fact I wanted all of my RAM available for use, hence x64).

Personally I've found plenty of freeware that I'm happy with and suits my needs, certainly from a security point of view.

Avast 5
Comodo Firewall and HIPS
WinPatrol Plus
MBAM (on demand)
Secunia PSI
Sandboxie (not guaranteed 100% reliable under x64 but still does offer a considerable extra degree of safety).

Add into that, the inbuilt W7 security such as UAC, PatchGuard, and a little common sense with surfing habits and downloads, and I feel pretty secure.

I've also had a play with Virtualbox and a number of different Linux distro's.
If I need XP, I fire up my old PC.

Regarding games, Steam seems to be working fine for me (HL2, Dirt2, OFDR). I've also almost finished Crysis (non Steam), I actually used it's 64-bit mode without any problem all the way through to Reckoning (final level), when right at the end I started suffering severe lag and BSOD's! After fruitlessly messing around with the ATI Catalyst drivers it turned out to be a known problem with Crysis and DX10. Playing it in 32-bit DX9 mode solved the problem for me perfectly........now I just need to work out how to kill that last bl**dy Alien ship!

I don't think you'll have any problems from a gaming point of view under x64.
Maybe some older games may have issues but from what I've read, these are in the minority, especially with W7's compatability mode also at your disposal. (I've also seen quite a few forums out there that have topics which list which games work and suggested workarounds to use if they don't).

Personally, If you are upgrading to a new machine I don't see the point in staying with x86 when clearly the future is x64. As has been said earlier, those software developers that haven't already done so, will no doubt be working hard to modify their programs for a 64-bit environment if at all possible.
Obviously you'll likely come across problems along the way but there's usually a workaround to find somewhere out there on the web.

Personally I'm very happy with W7 x64
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Mar 2010, 03:04 PM   #16 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
The reason in fact I chose Ultimate was the ability to change the OS language.
Might be wrong but I don't think this is an option for the lesser versions.
I think that's right and from what I understand.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Mar 2010, 05:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mostly planet Earth
Posts: 323
Default

I've been playing FEAR, Elder Scrolls: Oblivion and Bioshock (all 32 bit) on Win7 64 bit with no issues. Not even tried xp mode.
HeWhoRocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Mar 2010, 06:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Well, I've never had any driver issues, Windows 7 is surprisingly good at recognizing your hardware. My whole computer became fully functional (including graphic card) without a reboot on the first day within minutes!

I think you'll only have driver problems if your hardware is very old.
You can test drive a Windows 7 Enterprise 90-day trial here available in 32-bit and 64-bit versions.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Mar 2010, 05:32 AM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Av_Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.L. View Post
You can use XP mode with full license on Vmware Player by following this article: http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/10911...irtualization/
The performance will be much better.

There's also VMLite if you prefer VirtualBox: http://www.vmlite.com/index.php/download
The software itself is based on VitualBox, they have an add-on for VirtualBox 3.1.2 as well. Not sure about this one because I never tried it before.
Thanx for dis links..will try it when i instal 7
Av_Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.