Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12. Jan 2010, 07:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default Can't get one download to show in advanced view

While I was in Vuze, I accidentally deleted one line of a show I was downloading in the advanced My library view. I pressed the space bar while ithe line was highlighted and it disappeared. On the simple view, it is still running though.

How do I get torrents back into view in advanced mode?
Oiler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Jan 2010, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 424
Default

I had never noticed that before.

I just checked it out on my Vuze. I had to change to Vuze interface from the Classic and it did just as it did for you when I pressed the space-bar while the torrent was highlighted.

I exited Vuze and re-opened it and the torrent showed again in Advanced>My Library. Check and see if that works for you.

Steve
mr6n8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Jan 2010, 07:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks, yes I got the line back when I went out of Vuze and back in. BTW if you remove a torrent and not delete it or the data, how do you put it back to try downloading again?
Oiler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Jan 2010, 07:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 424
Default

You open the .torrent manually through File>Open>Torrent file (Ctrl+O).

Click the "Add Files" button and browse to the .torrent file.

Then set the download location to the existing partial data.

You should get a popup that the files already exist. Press OK and Vuze will check the partially downloaded content and adjust the downloaded % in Vuze and you should be able to start from where you left off.

Same procedure for a completed torrent, except that the % will climb to 100% and the torrent will then move down to the seeding section.

Steve
mr6n8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Jan 2010, 10:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default

That is ok for torrents I imported in, but where are the torrents located for those I used the search feature to find? BTW what is the "classic" mode?

Thanks
Oiler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Jan 2010, 10:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 424
Default

Quote:
That is ok for torrents I imported in, but where are the torrents located for those I used the search feature to find?
I am not quite sure what you mean, but I think you are talking about torrents that you open directly as opposed to downloading the torrent and then opening.
If that is what you are asking, check at Tools>Options>Files (expand)>Torrents and see if there is a "Save directory" chosen for torrents. If there is, then a torrent should be created and saved in that directory.
If there is no save directory specified there, then check in the Azureus Application Data folder. If you are on Windows, you can access the AppData folder through a link at the bottom of the screen at Tools>Options>Files.
You would need to be in Tools>Options>Mode = Advanced to see the link.

Quote:
BTW what is the "classic" mode?
Classic mode does not load the Vuze HD platform. It has all the features of the the Vuze look, but is lighter. If you are not downloading anything from the Vuze HD platform, it is a better choice. If you do download from the HD platform, then you have to have the Vuze interface.

You can check it out (and change back) by going to Tools>Options>Interface (expand)>Start and pressing the "Show" button. It will show a screen to choose Vuze or Classic. Choose and re-start.
mr6n8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Jan 2010, 12:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks I finally found where the torrents are stored. It's in the applications data folder like you said.

I have Windows XP, and I think I am in regular Vuze mode. I am not up on the terminology so I will just leave it for now and not try to go Classic mode.

Vuze really hogs the bandwidth and slows all other applications to almost a standstill on my system. I tried a few suggestions but it is only a slight improvement. Figured out what port forwarding was and set a port on my firewall to help with downloads. Don't know if going into classic mode would help though?
Oiler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Jan 2010, 01:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 424
Default

As far as hogging the bandwidth, that issue is almost always from Vuze using too much upload bandwidth. Generally capping upload in Vuze at 80% of your internet connection's upload capacity resolves (and will help download speeds).

A speed test should be taken to determine the upload capacity of your connection.

The Adjusting Internal Settings section of this guide will help with that:
http://www.techsupportalert.com/cont...ernal-settings

Classic is probably a little easier to get around in than the Vuze interface and it uses a good amount less RAM (if that is an issue with other applications).
mr6n8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.