Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19. Oct 2009, 06:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 277
Wink Computer restarts when i insert a disc!

Sound Familiar?

I had this problem a found that there could be 2 causes.

One is a driver compatibility problem.. It could be conflicting with any hardware you have installed. So you would have to boot up in diagnostic mode and try to find the compatibility problem.

I was also informed that it could be a software problem.

My computer kept on restarting when i put in a disc and was told it could be because there was more then one program trying to get to the disc. Such as Image-burns Auto detect. Km Player, media monkey ect. All were trying to grab hold of the disc and simply overloaded and forced a restart.

So to solve this i disable auto-start all together in every program and on the drive in My Computer (even went into the registry's auto detect key to sort it out)

This actually did sort out the problem i inserted a disc and nothing would happen until i open it with whatever program i wanted.


But after a fair bit of time it happened again when i inserted a blank cd.
so looking into it abit more i found this program called "autoplay repair wizard" from microsoft.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

And once again my computer is fixed. But for how long?
systemcrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19. Oct 2009, 11:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Better make a disc image this time, it'll save you from the headaches.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Oct 2009, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.L. View Post
Better make a disc image this time, it'll save you from the headaches.
i would but im having the issue with macrium reflect and Iorbit 360 security. Macrium reflect keeps on freezing. im considering using acronis todo back up until macrium and Iorbit learn to work together. :-)

But aconis backup doesn't compress the images as small as macrium the last time i used it. But on the other hand. At least i will have a back up..
systemcrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Nov 2009, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 277
Post

hi inapaler, I found out that it was a hardware update problem. After restoring my computer to a time before i updated the hardware everything was fine. But i narrowed it down.
When updating on microsofts web page in the custom section it shows optional hardware updates. I usually installed everything at once and when i did i had the problem were my CDRW drive restarted my computer when i inserted any kind of disc. but after deciding not to update my hardware i don't have the problem anymore. So i now know it is one of those updates. Not sure which one so just not gong to update the 4 bits of hardware from microsoft.
systemcrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Nov 2009, 06:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,296
Default

Thanks for sharing the information systemcrash.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.