Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12. Dec 2019, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,156
Default Would like to add backup on SSD with Win10 iso already on it

Had a spare SSD, so i used it to have Windows 10 .iso in case of re-installation need.

Seeing that there is still plenty of room, is there a way to add another .iso or backup?
Have Acronis, and would like to use it as boot rescue in order to restore from backed up image...
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Dec 2019, 04:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default

As long as the SSD has a valid partition table and does not just contain a single file you can ask Acronis to put a backup on it.
I do this on my system with Win 7 and Acronis.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Dec 2019, 10:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,156
Default

Appreciate that Burn-IT !

For some reason, the Acronis Rescue Media i had on a DVD would no longer work (after many years of faithful service) and even making a new one, it still didn't do the trick. Did check to see if CD in BIOS had changed for some reason, but no. So i did fresh install but now, i'm debating about whether going to Macrium free ed. or Acronis 11 (that i still have) which uses plenty of resources...

Booting Acronis Rescue from SSD via usb could be a good solution.

Decisions, decisions!
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Dec 2019, 06:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default

I use Acronis True Image Home Version 11 that was a giveaway on here some time ago.
The resource usage is no a problem as I always turn everything else off while I do it.

I did one last night while I was watching the Simpsons and it only took 20 minutes to do a full backup of my Windows 7 home drive(32Gb) - which reminds me I need to check for unneeded stuff on there.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Dec 2019, 07:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,156
Default

We can never be reminded enough to have a backup plan for our data and OS.

- - - - -

Slowly finishing off app re-installation on clean Win10 setup...

Now the SSD connected via usb is not showing up.
Not even in File Explorer - so i can't see how much room to shrink it (Windows 10 setup is on it) to make room for Acronis Media Rescue.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Dec 2019, 07:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,156
Default

Okay, the device shows up after reboot.
Have 81GB free - do i format that to NTFS of Fat32?

- - - - -

Acronis 11 giveaway you said?
Where was i at the time?!!!
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Dec 2019, 08:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,156
Default

Setting up Acronis Boot Rescue on SSD (connected via usb) is more complicated than i would like.

There are only two options:
1. create .iso
2. do it on DVD RW.

I burned the .iso to a 5G 32bit partition on that SSD but only Windows10 .iso starts up.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Dec 2019, 02:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,156
Default

Acronis True Image 11 was, once upon a time, a true blessing.

Tried to burn the Rescue disk again, on the same size and make as the one that worked before (700 megs CD-RW) and in the end, it said it was short of about 51 megs. Why did it work before and not now?

Then i tried same on 4.7G DVD-RW - it never would load (even with BIOS set to have CD load first).

Then i tried with a partition for it on an SSD with Win10 iso and only Win10 would load.

So, the question is: can Macrium (or other freeware) do better in this case scenario?

What a nightmare!
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Dec 2019, 06:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,156
Default

As American Southerners would say, "dang!"

Did manage to do a Macrium rescue disk on same 700Mg CD as Acronis once could but for some reason, it won't boot either. The CD spins but just won't kick in. Weird, 'cause i can install Canon Scanner with the CD reader, so it is working properly. Some other mechanical defect?

So, back to Acronis (more user friendly i find) and grin and bear it with installing via Win10 iso until i can find a better solution (CD, DVD or USB device) i guess. That, and maybe just switch to Linux... LinuxMint MATE 19.3 beta is a decent thing for my old laptop.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.