Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13. Feb 2017, 09:16 AM   #11 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 27
Default

Thanks again gentlemen. I really appreciate the trouble you've gone to to help

Just shows you that while I don't post too much, I "know" you all and it's one of only 5 sites I visit. And one in relation to PCs. This one. Tells you something !!

Mike

Last edited by Mike D; 13. Feb 2017 at 09:30 AM.
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14. Feb 2017, 09:22 AM   #12 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 27
Default

Well that failed as well going the route of starter uninstall and then CTR. Both ways failed, this time with "CTR could not initialise" message when I clicked on the desktop icons

Running out of patience with this one and quickly. Yep, could do a reinstall (I have a new WP 64 bit disc) to get rid of it but the HP desktop background I just love, and of course, don't wish to do reinstalls of the other apps

Thinking of relabelling Q drive or trying a delete of the drive thru safe mode. Is that worth a shot?

So here I am with a 2nd hand 2007 SBE Office (absolute pristine condition for pennies off ebay, it's brand new condition) and can't use the blasted thing
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2017, 03:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Perth, AU
Posts: 192
Default

I'd thought that Revo Standard would work, just as well.
although I've just used the Add/Remove Programs, to do that very task.
& that worked just fine.

then, install the later version, after a reboot, of course.
Pierre2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2017, 10:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 27
Default

Thanks

I got rid of it with MS Fixit 50540. Still got the Q drive but at least I now have 2007 installed

Revo Pro certainly didn't work for me at all
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2017, 10:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

Thanks for letting us know.

But the MS Fixit appears to be 50450 and not 50540 which is Doctor Watson.
https://social.technet.microsoft.com...eitproprevious
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Feb 2017, 01:56 AM   #16 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 27
Default

Yes, my error .... had to find someone in the UK who sent me the 50450 file as she had the identical problem. It was driving me round the bend

Now gotta find a free way to split a pst file (have over 55,000 messages) from OE to outlook and the thought of backing up a full blown .pst rather than individual .dbx is another nightmare

Mike
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Feb 2017, 04:46 PM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 554
Default

Use the ARCHIVE function and then compress.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Feb 2017, 04:00 AM   #18 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 27
Default

What is the easy way to pin desktop icons to the start menu guys? 3 of my MS programs, no issue, the other two just won't stay there. Should I be searching for the .exe files and try again?
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.