Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16. Dec 2016, 10:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 4
Default open with missing from right click context menu

I'm running Win 10 Pro, 64 bit. When I right click a folder or file to bring up Context Menu 'Open With' is missing. I've tried the 'normal' Registry editing (shellex, contextmenuhandlers, etc) and the Open With is there with the correct Default value. Shift, right click also doesn't do the trick.

Microsoft suggests that my custom Start Menu (Classic Shell) may be causing the problem but my wife is running the same OS on her laptop with Classic Shell and she doesn't have the Open With problem.

Would greatly appreciate suggestions. Thank you.
lvsunz37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Dec 2016, 05:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

AFAIK, "Open with" is based on file types and their associations. So have you checked those?

NirSoft's OpenWithView might help you because it enables or disables those associations.

Edit: And here's help on using it.
http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/win...en-with-menus/
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.

Last edited by Remah; 17. Dec 2016 at 05:22 AM. Reason: Add link
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Dec 2016, 02:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,518
Default

Have a look through these, maybe one of the methods listed will help solve your issue - if Remah's suggestion hasn't already solved it for you.

http://windowsreport.com/open-with-missing-windows-10/

http://www.intowindows.com/fix-open-...in-windows-10/

The method you've already tried is listed but maybe some of the others will help.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Dec 2016, 10:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 4
Default open with missing from right click context menu

Thanks Remah & deya.

Openwithview won't allow me to add an openwith option from scratch.

I've already tried the other methods & they didn't work.

I may have to bite the bullet & do a Refresh, then re-install apps, etc.
lvsunz37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Dec 2016, 01:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

Don't refresh, you are using wrong tool

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/shell_menu_view.html
Shell Menu View not OpenWithView

go down to the openwithsetasdefaulon and enable it, or find the right file type and enable it under it
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Dec 2016, 02:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

If the file association doesn't exist, and therefore isn't listed by OpenWithView, then you can add the file associations as normal.
http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/quickly...-associations/
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Dec 2016, 07:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks eyeb- not sure how to do this: 'find the right file type and enable it under it.'
lvsunz37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Dec 2016, 11:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

Found an article that might be quicker/easier fix? not sure if you looked at it yet or not
http://betanews.com/2016/02/29/open-with-windows-10/

edit: nvm, can't delete post, but Deya already posted this in a different link. If you've tried it already

not sure how to describe "how to do it", open program, and scrolldown until you see the "openwith" line, right click and select the enable/disable option. If it is disabled, enable it. If enabled, then leave it as is
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Dec 2016, 10:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 4
Default open with missing from right click context menu

Problem resolved via unusual Registry tweaking. Thanks to all.
lvsunz37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.