Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26. Oct 2016, 03:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Default Remove Windows password

How can you get rid of the sign in or passwords when windows starts up?
HAL52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Oct 2016, 08:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HAL52 View Post
How can you get rid of the sign in or passwords when windows starts up?
See here although this is not recommended for security reasons.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/20543...-password.html
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/wi...ws-10-3637669/
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Oct 2016, 01:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
Default

May I point out that this is NOT removing the password, but automatically entering it.
There IS a security difference as is pointed out in the article.

Not that the latest Windows will let you in without a userid and password.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Oct 2016, 07:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
EldonW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Posts: 276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn-IT View Post
Not that the latest Windows will let you in without a userid and password.
Only if you set a password.
EldonW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Oct 2016, 07:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
Default

I don't think you cannot with W10.
You have to set one even if it is blank.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Nov 2016, 06:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burn-IT View Post
I don't think you cannot with W10.
You have to set one even if it is blank.
password isn't required, I didn't have one for some time because I didn't want one
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Nov 2016, 12:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

You don't need a password for a local account but you do for a Microsoft account, which is the default setup, i.e. an online account with email address.
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.