Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20. Feb 2016, 03:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
compleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 26
Default Unable to remove a program

Some time ago i installed Malwarebytes anti ransomware,but decided to remove it.I just had to do a system restore & it is in add/remove.

When i try to uninstall it in add/remove i get an error.

When i try to delete it in windows explorer i get an error.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MB 1.JPG (17.6 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg MB 2.JPG (23.9 KB, 8 views)
compleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Feb 2016, 05:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Never rely on system restore to completely or reliably remove anything. Always remove it properly with either the built-in uninstaller or an uninstall tool specifically made for that software, unless you do drive imaging: http://www.techsupportalert.com/best...g-software.htm
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Feb 2016, 05:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
compleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 26
Default

The reason for system restore was not to remove the program,i had to do SR for another reason & MBAR was back & i tried to remove it but to no avail.
compleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Feb 2016, 05:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by compleo View Post
The reason for system restore was not to remove the program,i had to do SR for another reason & MBAR was back & i tried to remove it but to no avail.
If you run the MBAR installer again, hopefully it will create a complete installation and then enable you to uninstall it properly. Make sure you use an uninstall program that searches for and removes left over traces such as the free version of Geek.

http://www.geekuninstaller.com/
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Feb 2016, 07:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
compleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 26
Default

Tried to reinstall & got this error,tried clicking "retry" to no avail.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MB 3.JPG (39.7 KB, 6 views)
compleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Feb 2016, 08:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

You could try attacking it using safe mode but great care is needed because once Windows becomes corrupted you can do more damage instead of correcting the original issue.

http://atechjourney.com/how-to-insta...afe-mode.html/

It is a known fact that the installation and un-installation of security software is the most likely cause of system corruption. It is therefore advisable not to change antivirus, third party firewalls and other security related software on a regular basis.

Most other software types can be safely evaluated using a virtual environment such as that provided by ToolWiz Time Freeze, but the majority of security software will either not install using this method or if it does, run properly.

http://www.toolwiz.com/products/toolwiz-time-freeze/

The majority reason for these issues is a lot of security software creates and hides special files in different parts of your system. It then uses these as a reference for functions such as rootkit scans or as an anti-tamper audit. If the relationship between the main program and these additional files is disrupted, as has possibly happened in your case, it might not be possible to restore the system completely without reinstalling Windows from scratch or using an image taken before this incident.

You should also post on the Malwarebytes forum because maybe others have encountered the same issue.

https://forums.malwarebytes.org/

Lastly, this is beta software so you should know what to expect and not install it without having a clean Windows image saved.

"As this is the very first beta we do encourage beta users to install the product in non-production environments for testing purposes."
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.

Last edited by MidnightCowboy; 20. Feb 2016 at 08:42 AM.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Feb 2016, 08:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
compleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 26
Default

"You could try attacking it using safe mode but great care is needed because once Windows becomes corrupted you can do more damage instead of correcting the original issue.

http://atechjourney.com/how-to-insta...afe-mode.html/"

I tried add/remove via safe mode before i posted & figured it wouldn't work.

====================

"Most other software types can be safely evaluated using a virtual environment such as that provided by ToolWiz Time Freeze, but the majority of security software will either not install using this method or if it does, run properly".

http://www.toolwiz.com/products/toolwiz-time-freeze/

Isn't this like a virtual program,such a "returnil".I thought when the program runs in virtual the changes will not be saved.Maybe with a paid version,but not sure.

===================

"it might not be possible to restore the system completely without reinstalling Windows from scratch or using an image taken before this incident".

Well i'm probably better off leaving it alone.

====================

I like the greek uninstaller tool.
compleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Feb 2016, 09:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by compleo View Post

"Most other software types can be safely evaluated using a virtual environment such as that provided by ToolWiz Time Freeze, but the majority of security software will either not install using this method or if it does, run properly".

http://www.toolwiz.com/products/toolwiz-time-freeze/

Isn't this like a virtual program,such a "returnil".I thought when the program runs in virtual the changes will not be saved.Maybe with a paid version,but not sure.
This is the point so you can try out a software without "really" installing it or saving any changes to your hard drive. A lot of security software needs a reboot to complete thus making them unsuitable for a virtual deployment.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Feb 2016, 01:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

This is how I interpret the screenshots in post #1:
  1. The file, unins000.dat, is missing. Most likely, this file is required to properly uninstall the program. You could double-check and ensure that it's really missing by looking in the path described.
  2. A program cannot be uninstalled while it is in use. In this case, MBAR (Malwarebytes Anti-Ransomware) is running and must be closed before it can be uninstalled.
I have read and re-read this thread and I still don't have a clear picture of how you went about uninstalling MBAR. How, exactly, did you go about uninstalling MBAR? What does system restore have to do with uninstalling MBAR?

One last thing. The developer of Malwarebytes Anti-Ransomeware is Nathan and he hangs out on Bleeping Computer's forums. He has an open thread there for feedback and discussion. If all else fails, you could probably post there and ask for his help.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Feb 2016, 03:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
compleo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 26
Default

"How, exactly, did you go about uninstalling MBAR"?

At the time i had MBAR i tried to update it & there seemed to be an issue with an error pop up,"unable to connect service" so after several attempts i just removed it via add/remove & it was gone.This was probably about several weeks ago.

====================

"What does system restore have to do with uninstalling MBAR"?

Absolutely nothing,yesterday when i booted the monitor was black with a pop up & i don't remember what was in the pop up box,something like need to insert cd or something like that.So i did a SR & MBAR was back on my desktop so i took it to mean SR put MBAR back again & this is when i tried to remove it but to no avail & then i posted here.

====================

Since MBAR was back,or parts of it,including the desktop shortcut icon,which is how i knew it was back after SR.

I got tired of looking at the MBAR icon so i deleted it.So i thought,i'll try add/remove again & it worked & the same for windows explorer.I don't understand by why deleting the desktop shortcut worked,go figure.
compleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.