Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07. Jan 2016, 03:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default How clean cache in Chrome with CCleaner

Sorry for resurrecting an old thread, but I have a question about CCleaner and portable apps; like Chrome.

Can anyone tell me how to use CCleaner to clean the cache in portable chrome?
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Jan 2016, 04:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

In CCleaner GUI select:-
Options > include (in the left column)
Click the Add button (in the right column)
You can now add any custom folder you want to be cleaned.

Obviously you will need to know the location of your portable Chrome cache folder to use this feature.

HTH

Edit: I don't use Chrome Portable so I don't know where it stores the cache and other temporary data, but, as with all portable programs, because they can be installed to various locations, if you want to have them cleaned by CCleaner then they will need to be added manually in this manner.

Last edited by Sope; 07. Jan 2016 at 04:57 PM.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Jan 2016, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

Thanks a lot Sope. But, now I have to find where it stores it's cache.

Yet, I am seeing conflicting reports online that portable Chrome deletes it's cache upon closing every time?!

In fact, if I look in the ini file, I see the following:

Quote:
CacheInTemp=true
; If this is true, the disk Cache will be set to use the local computer, and
; will be deleted on exit, even if RunLocally is false.
So, maybe I don't need to use CCleaner to clean the cache??


P.S. So, now I wonder if portable Opera does the same thing--deletes its cache upon exit?!
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Jan 2016, 07:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

Just a quick answer to my P.S. above in case anyone else was wondering.

CCleaner finds portable Opera's cache automatically; unlike Chrome. Upon opening CCleaner, I find Opera as a choice for cleaning even though I only use the portable version.

Just thought I would answer my own question....
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Jan 2016, 08:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Are you sure that CCleaner is correctly identifying your Opera Portable cache?
I have Portable Opera on my PC and CCleaner doesn't appear to be aware that it is on my system. In the past, I've had CCleaner list options to clean programs that I have previously had installed but subsequently removed, due to the fact that it has detected old registry keys which had been left behind.

Of course, most browsers have the option of an "incognito" mode, or the the ability to set them to delete browsing history on exit, which would make the need to use CCleaner redundant. I suspect that most portable versions are set up to do this automatically by default in any case.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Jan 2016, 11:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

I'm pretty sure that I am correct. Here's my Windows Explorer showing OperaPortable:



And, here's CCleaner page:





I'm not sure what I'm missing....
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Jan 2016, 11:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Turns out I'm a wee bit behind the times.... apparently CCleaner added support for Opera Portable as far back as v3.18.1707 (25 Apr 2012)!

Apologies for adding unnecessary confusion

Maybe it's not detecting the one I have on my system as it's located in a custom named folder (C:\Portable Program Files\OperaPortableLegacy12) rather than on the root of C: and/or in the default named folder i.e. C:\OperaPortable ?

Regarding your original question about Chrome Portable, the CCleaner history page doesn't appear to mention it specifically but does say "Improved detection and cleaning of portable browsers" in a number of entries.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Jan 2016, 05:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,335
Default

As I mentioned above, portable Chrome defaults to deleting cache upon exit. So, you don't need to worry about the CCleaner procedure outlined by Sope.
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.