Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15. Apr 2015, 10:07 PM   #51 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe A.TT View Post
Glad you found the root cause at least. I see you have been trying to solve this mystery for a long time. Thankfully, your persistence and Remah's experience got you there in the end.
Hello Joe, I am not out of the woods yet. Thanks to all of you who pitched in to help, that I have been able to keep this up without buckling under. I hope some permanent solution will show up soon.

Kind regards,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Apr 2015, 10:44 PM   #52 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
In one of the posts from that Microsoft link, that I have quoted in my last post, you will find this statement "We have resorted to manually installing update off network". Could you explain how this is done? I would certainly like to be able to do the updating on my own without letting Microsoft run amok with my computer.
I sent a reply to you in a PM because I got blocked by the spam filters.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
I hope some permanent solution will show up soon.
I certainly hope so.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2015, 12:17 AM   #53 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

Melita

1. Following up on that update problem, Microsoft had some solutions. Did you try them including downloading the latest Windows update client as recommended for When you use Automatic Updates to scan for updates or to apply updates to applications that use Windows Installer, you experience issues that involve the Svchost.exe process.

2. It is still worth looking at upgrading your RAM. If you had 4GB RAM you might have noticed no more than a slowdown.

3. I've been impressed with your perseverance and patience. We asked a lot of questions and talked about a lot of things you weren't familiar with. I hope that after this ordeal you feel a lot more confident in problem solving on your system.

4. I looked up your Acer system information using the SNID. It was really just basic warranty info that was disappointing in the lack of detail particularly when you compare it with what you can get from Dell, HP, Lenovo, etc. That's why I prefer computers from manufacturers that provide detailed specifications and support information that is easy for users to access. I had to find readable specs for your system on other sites than Acer. I'm wondering if others found the same?

But we can deduce some of the original configuration from the description field:
AS5250-BZ479-CA W7HP64AS/C-50/2G/320GB/6L2.2/15.6

AS5250-BZ479-CA = model; AS is Aspire
W7HP64 = Windows Home Premium 64-bit
AS = Aspire pre-installed software package? Other models show EMAS which appears to be an install package for an EMachines system - a brand Acer also owns.
C-50 = AMD C-50 1.0GHz Dual-Core processor
2G = 2GB DDR3 RAM
320GB = 320GB hard disk
6L2.2 = ???
15.6 = 15.6 inch LED screen

The other main features don't appear to be mentioned:
-DVD+/-RW drive
-2-in-1 card reader
-Gigabit Ethernet adapter
-Wireless B/G/N
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2015, 12:16 PM   #54 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remah View Post

4. I looked up your Acer system information using the SNID. It was really just basic warranty info that was disappointing in the lack of detail particularly when you compare it with what you can get from Dell, HP, Lenovo, etc. That's why I prefer computers from manufacturers that provide detailed specifications and support information that is easy for users to access. I had to find readable specs for your system on other sites than Acer. I'm wondering if others found the same?
Out of curiosity I had a look for the specs on the Acer website too, and like you, I found it poor in comparison to other manufacturers support information.
Goes to show, it's worth checking a particular manufacturers support information when shopping for a new laptop/desktop/tablet etc., it may have an influence on your decision.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2015, 04:51 PM   #55 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
In one of the posts from that Microsoft link, that I have quoted in my last post, you will find this statement "We have resorted to manually installing update off network". Could you explain how this is done? I would certainly like to be able to do the updating on my own without letting Microsoft run amok with my computer.
When you set Windows updates to Never check for updates, you can update your computer by downloading the updates installers and running them. This is a good way to update computers that are not connected to the internet (the quote). Or, visiting Windows updates and scanning manually for updates. Then choosing what to update and when to do it. The way I do it. Doing updates this way works good for me, it should work fine for you too.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2015, 05:22 PM   #56 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remah View Post
Melita

1. Following up on that update problem, Microsoft had some solutions. Did you try them including downloading the latest Windows update client as recommended for When you use Automatic Updates to scan for updates or to apply updates to applications that use Windows Installer, you experience issues that involve the Svchost.exe process
At the top of this article, I found the following statement: This article applies to a different version of Windows than the one you are using. Content in this article may not be relevant to you.Visit the Windows 7 Solution Center

Quote:
2. It is still worth looking at upgrading your RAM. If you had 4GB RAM you might have noticed no more than a slowdown.
I have already accepted this suggestion. It is not difficult to understand that extra memory is like money in the bank. Whenever the necessity arises, it is always there to fall back on.

Only as a matter of interest and applicable to this specific problem; In that thread you directed me to, there are many computers suffering the same fate even with 4GB RAM. There are some new posts there today. Computer technicians are having a really hard time because people don't believe that this is a Microsoft muck up!

Quote:
3. I've been impressed with your perseverance and patience. We asked a lot of questions and talked about a lot of things you weren't familiar with. I hope that after this ordeal you feel a lot more confident in problem solving on your system.
Yes, it makes me very confident indeed. The fact is, this is a marvelous computer forum. The way that all of you banded together to help me is quite amazing. That goes a long way in inspiring confidence

Quote:
4. I looked up your Acer system information using the SNID. It was really just basic warranty info that was disappointing in the lack of detail particularly when you compare it with what you can get from Dell, HP, Lenovo, etc. That's why I prefer computers from manufacturers that provide detailed specifications and support information that is easy for users to access. I had to find readable specs for your system on other sites than Acer. I'm wondering if others found the same?
At the time I bought this in 2011, I knew absolutely nothing about computers. The technician from the seller had to come home and set it up for me!

Kind regards,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2015, 05:34 PM   #57 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Hello Bo,

These seem to be the ideal methods for me too! I need a little more help about how to do this. Could you please explain the two methods that I have highlighted below.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
When you set Windows updates to Never check for updates, you can update your computer by downloading the updates installers and running them. This is a good way to update computers that are not connected to the internet (the quote). Or, visiting Windows updates and scanning manually for updates. Then choosing what to update and when to do it. The way I do it. Doing updates this way works good for me, it should work fine for you too.
Thank you,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2015, 05:41 PM   #58 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

1. You're right it is for XP not 7.
Did you try running the Windows Update troubleshooter?
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2015, 06:26 PM   #59 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
The fact is, this is a marvelous computer forum. The way that all of you banded together to help me is quite amazing.
Yes, this is a great forum. The people here are always helpful and genuine. That is why I came and I stayed.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2015, 06:32 PM   #60 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
These seem to be the ideal methods for me too! I need a little more help about how to do this. Could you please explain the two methods that I have highlighted below.
For both methods, Click Control panel>Windows updates.There you Click search for updates. After Windows updates scans your PC, you ll get a list of the important updates that are available for your computer. Then you choose what not to update by unticking the update that you want to wait installing. Thats how I do it.

For the other method, the one that you download the update and then run the installer in your PC, an easy way to do it would be to click More information (Mas information), on the right hand, that opens a link like the one below and depending on your computer system, you download the installer, run it and you are done. Anyway, I don't do it this way, I do it as I explained at the beginning of this post.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3038314

Bo
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Sin título4.jpg (97.0 KB, 5 views)
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.