Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07. Apr 2015, 01:41 AM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Actually, the report she shared had IP address, and other network related information, which can be sensitive. That's why I removed the link.

What you asked for can be done by just posting the summary...
I agree.

Melita, your CPU together with the 2GB or RAM that you have is the bare minimum stipulated for Windows 7 64-bit. IMHO, even though Microsoft says this is the minimum you'll always be living on the edge with those specs. I won't be surprised if Task Manager shows you don't have much in reserve. In view of this, would advise you to keep startup entries and running programs to a minimum.

Also, I believe some process or the other is starting up and running at the times you experience these slowdowns/freezes. Mostly likely this process is hogging most of your system resources when it runs. Your Event Viewer logs should tell you what happened at the times in questions. Please let us know what you find.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
Acer 5250-BZ479. If you can`t find the exact one, the second part BZ479 may not be that important.
I'll see what I find.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
Here is a screen shot of the Speedfan findings.
SpeedFan shows your GPU and core temperatures are a bit high. Once again, it's likely because of the low spec of your CPU combined with the workload it has.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall.a View Post
You will find competing arguments online about whether it's best to turn a computer off at night or if you should leave it turned on.
You have a point Kendall. Again, I blame MS for not being specific enough.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall.a View Post
P.S. I do not, however, use sleep mode or hibernation. I do have my monitor shut itself off after an hour of inactivity, but I do not sleep or hibernate my computer.
You may not invoke sleep or hibernate manually yourself, but unless you change it, Windows is set by default to go to sleep after a predetermined time. Also, if it's a desktop you will have hybrid sleep in place of hibernate.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Apr 2015, 04:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall.a View Post
I know that earlier Anupam suggested that you turn off your computer every night. I don't do that. In fact, I probably hardly ever turn off my computer. I may re-boot it once a week or so, but I seldom ever turn it off.
I have this way of thinking too. We have widely ranging day/night temperatures here plus high humidity so the computer is best left running to maintain a constant environment. I do have to remove the internet cable though to avoid surges if we have a storm during the night.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Apr 2015, 05:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe A.TT View Post
I agree.

Melita, your CPU together with the 2GB or RAM that you have is the bare minimum stipulated for Windows 7 64-bit. IMHO, even though Microsoft says this is the minimum you'll always be living on the edge with those specs.
Another reason to consider at least dual booting with Linux. If you check out the Linux Mint specs for instance, you would be way below the requirements except for KDE.

http://www.fahdumam.com/2015/01/linu...-mint-171.html

Also, without a bunch of security programs bogging everything down, a Linux system would by comparison fly on a machine like this.

Just to keep me mobile I have a Samsung RV415 which is dual booted with the original Windows 7 Starter edition and Trisquel 6.0.

http://www.pcworld.com/product/12924...-notebook.html

Windows crawls by comparison and if I installed an Xfce version of Linux, the latter would likely be even faster. Whenever my AV is updating, Secunia is scanning or system updates are being retrieved, windows are like glue to open and the mouse drags instead of moving smoothly.

I also notice the CPU running at max during many Windows operations and the fan is constantly cutting in which is not so with Linux.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Apr 2015, 08:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall.a View Post
You will find competing arguments online about whether it's best to turn a computer off at night or if you should leave it turned on.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe A.TT View Post
You have a point Kendall. Again, I blame MS for not being specific enough.
Nobody should be blamed for this situation which is considerably more complex than it appears. There are competing factors which is why there are competing arguments. Most of all, any recommendation depends upon the priorities of the user.

A very simplistic analysis is to consider only two competing guidelines:
  • If minimizing the cost of operating the system is the priority then it is almost always better to switch it off when you are not using it.
  • If readiness of the system is the priority then it is almost always better to leave it switched on so it is immediately available when you need it.
The various standby modes, including sleep and hibernation, are the primary means to balance these two priorities. They reduce the cost of operation while preserving some features of readiness.

While it is theoretically possible to produce a decision tree or flow chart that covers the many relevant factors, it would be fiendishly complex. It would also require many calculations based on factors that would have to be input by the computer user.
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Apr 2015, 08:33 AM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

Melita,
as a first step I would run Windows Task Manager immediately on waking your laptop. This allows you to see what is happening when the system eventually runs slow or freezes. You can load it by right-clicking on the task bar.

Click on the Processes tab you can see what is running.
Then click on the CPU column heading to sort the processes by the amount of processing power they are using.

From the main menu, select Options then Always on Top so Task Manager remain visible while you are working.
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Apr 2015, 02:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Melita, I didn't find the Service Manual for your laptop, however, I searched for "disassemble Acer Aspire 5250" on YouTube and I found several videos. You should have a look and see if they help.

Also, I like Remah's idea of starting Task Manager before the problem starts. You should try it.

The bottom line is you are running Windows 7 64-bit on a 1GHz CPU and 2GB of RAM. IMHO, that's cutting it close.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Apr 2015, 07:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Hello Joe,

I tried to reply to your post above but something is wrong and I am unable to. Could you please check my private message to you.

Regards,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Apr 2015, 01:52 AM   #18 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

I am being blocked by the censors here, claiming that I am using a censored word. I have addressed two private messages to MidnightCowboy-Site Manager. The full text that I tried to post is included in those.

Thank you,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Apr 2015, 12:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe A.TT View Post
Melita, I didn't find the Service Manual for your laptop, however, I searched for "disassemble Acer Aspire 5250" on YouTube and I found several videos. You should have a look and see if they help.
Thank you. I'll have a look.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe A.TT View Post
Also, I like Remah's idea of starting Task Manager before the problem starts. You should try it.
I read Remah's post and I have it open. Is there some way that I can get it to expand the full details under various column headings, like Image name, Image Path Name, Description etc. Hovering the mouse cursor over them does not do it. Please see the attachment. I have high lighted the shortened names, That I like to expand. Thank you.

full names.JPG

Regards,
__________________
Melita

Last edited by Melita-s; 08. Apr 2015 at 01:00 PM.
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Apr 2015, 03:16 PM   #20 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

This morning it happened again. Lated for about 20 minutes. The snipping tool was not opening because of the computer freeze. After many attempts, managed to get 2 snips of about 10 minutes spacing. High lighted are what appeared to me , as significant activity.

Snip 1.jpg Snip 2.jpg

This is the first time I am using Task Manager. Do I leave it in it's default display or do I use View>Select Columns and select more Page columns to display ? I need help to know exactly what to look for and snip and paste here.

Event Viewer has so much in it's Console Tree and Actions Pane that I am completely lost Help will be most welcome.

I also have Process Explorer and RESMON, but also need help with them to look for what is relevant to the problem.

Thank you,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.