Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05. Mar 2015, 10:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default Posting a link to a web page

When posting a link to a web page, in a forum post:

1. How can I make the link appear shortened, instead of the full URL?

2. Can I post a link where a particular section of a web page (the relevant part of that page), appears when clicked on the link instead of the top of that page, as usually happens. This is, so that the person who opens the link does not have to look all over the page to locate the section relevant to the issue, but he is automatically taken to that section when the full page opens.

Thank you,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Mar 2015, 01:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
When posting a link to a web page, in a forum post:

1. How can I make the link appear shortened, instead of the full URL?
Try http://www.techsupportalert.com/cont...#URL-Shortener

For example, the above link is shortened to http://bit.ly/18mNySQ

Quote:
2. Can I post a link where a particular section of a web page (the relevant part of that page), appears when clicked on the link instead of the top of that page, as usually happens. This is, so that the person who opens the link does not have to look all over the page to locate the section relevant to the issue, but he is automatically taken to that section when the full page opens.
You will need to add an anchor name or id to the URL, for example, #URL-Shortener in the above example. This works provided the page contains that anchor.

Last edited by Jojo Yee; 06. Mar 2015 at 01:14 AM.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Mar 2015, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jojo Yee View Post
Thank you for this one. But isn't there a way to do this also, using the same #, as you have done below

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jojo Yee View Post
You will need to add an anchor name or id to the URL, for example, #URL-Shortener in the above example. This works provided the page contains that anchor.
First you copy the link using the "insert link" icon at the top of your reply, and you add the anchor name thus '.....#URL-Shortener', to the end of the URL you just copied to the pop up window. Am I right? Do you also add a few dots like I have made here and like it appears in the link you made in your post?

Thank you,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Mar 2015, 01:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Melita, if what you are referring to how the first link in Jojo's post has been shortened, you don't have to do anything. Just post the full link and the forum software will automatically shorten it for you.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Mar 2015, 01:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
Do you also add a few dots like I have made here and like it appears in the link you made in your post?
No, no dots are needed. The few dots are auto generated here by vBulletin and appear so but underneath it is a complete link.

If it's a local link on the same web page, use just # followed by an anchor name is good enough. If jumping from one page to another, a complete link is needed.

Hope this helps.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Mar 2015, 04:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe A.TT View Post
Melita, if what you are referring to how the first link in Jojo's post has been shortened, you don't have to do anything. Just post the full link and the forum software will automatically shorten it for you.
Thank you Joe. Understood.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jojo Yee View Post
No, no dots are needed. The few dots are auto generated here by vBulletin and appear so but underneath it is a complete link.
If it's a local link on the same web page, use just # followed by an anchor name is good enough. If jumping from one page to another, a complete link is needed.
Thank you. I got it cleared up now.

Best regards,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.