Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26. Jan 2015, 05:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default Questions About Cyber Ghost VPN

I am using Cyberghost VPN free service. They want to, (1) install a root certificate (2) change my Firefox proxy settings. Please see attachments. I did not allow either.

CYBER GHOST.JPG

CYBER GHOST 2.JPG

About the root certificate there is a security warning. About firefox; I have manually selected "No proxy" as a security measure.

Is it safe to allow either or both of these changes?
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Jan 2015, 01:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Melita, I'm fairly new to VPN's myself but I'll try to answer your questions.

1. As advised in the Windows dialog, I think you should contact CyberGhost and confirm that the SHA1 matches the one in the dialog.

2. As I understand it, in order to use a VPN you must use a Proxy. Therefore, it seems that CyberGhost is requesting your permission to use a Proxy. Also, in my own Firefox settings No Proxy is selected by default so I don't understand how you had to set it manually yourself.

Actually, it's somewhat coincidental that I've started fooling around with a VPN myself. I've never used a VPN or Proxy before but recently I discovered ZenMate. It's different from other VPN's in that it is a Firefox Addon. I find it quite simple to use and there's no Security Certificate involved as far as I can tell. Also, it will set its proxy whenever you activate it and reverts it when you deactivate it. You don't have to do anything in that regard. You may want to give it a try.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Jan 2015, 06:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Thank you Joe. Without both the root certificate and proxy setting changes, Cyber Ghost is working fine. So I'll leave them alone and use it.

Regarding Firefox proxy settings, I must have changed the proxy settings myself before I learned that 'No proxy' is the recommended setting, and then got back to that setting manually. I have been looking at ZenMate and it looks good and I am going to download it. Thank you for this one.

The proxy setting changes are required only for the Anti Fingerprinting function. I don't know what it is. Is Anti Fingerprinting function very important for anonymity?

Best regards,
__________________
Melita

Last edited by Melita-s; 28. Jan 2015 at 06:18 PM.
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Jan 2015, 08:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

I agree with you. If you are sure that CyberGhost is working fine without the Root Certificate and Proxy changes then, by all means, leave them alone. At the same time, I find it strange that CyberGhost is still working since you haven't given it permission to change your proxy settings. I'm no expert, but as I understand it, it is through the very fact that a VPN uses a proxy that it is able to hide your IP. For example, Hulu and Netflix are not available outside the USA, yet by using a VPN you can access those very sites because it changes your IP to the VPN's server(s). If I'm wrong I hope someone will come along and correct me.

With regard to the Anti Fingerprinting feature I was able to find this...

Quote:
Anti Fingerprinting

By activating these options it's possible for CyberGhost to hide or exchange certain browser and operating system attributes, which are used to keep you identifiable. This will help to prevent being recognized by your country ID. Website owners like certain video platforms use these characteristics as an additional verification of your origin besides your IP address.
  • Change browser language with server location: This will adapt the language ID of your browser to the language of the country your server is located in.
  • Remove info about operating system and browser version: The information your OS and your browser contain allow in combination a relatively high score to identify your computer among millions of others. This option helps you to protect your anonymity additionally.
https://support.cyberghostvpn.com/in...rivacy-control

Based on the above, Anti Fingerprinting is an anti-tracking feature.

Also, although ZenMate and CyberGhost are both VPN's, the former is browser-specific, whereas the latter is system-wide. Therefore, if you are a person who use more than one browser, you may find that CyberGhost is more suitable.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Jan 2015, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Hello Joe,

Thank you for your update. I think I will go for ZenMate. My default browser is Firefox and in addition to that I only have IE, which I rarely use.

Could you tell me what size is ZenMate and your general impression about it?

Regards,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Jan 2015, 07:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

This is actually my first foray into VPN's. I really don't use it much but the few times I did it really did changed my IP. You can check for yourself by going to IP2location.

On my own Win 8.1 x64 system the XPI file is 630 KB. It's really tiny, and I like how easy it is to turn On or Off.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Feb 2015, 06:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Many thanks Joe, I'll have a go at it.

Kind regards,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Feb 2015, 07:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe A.TT View Post
I really don't use it much but the few times I did it really did changed my IP. You can check for yourself by going to IP2location
Joe, I made a desktop short cut to this ĚP2location`link, using the drag and drop method of Firefox that you showed me earlier, but it does not work. When I click on the short cut I keep getting the familiar `404 error`. Do you know how I can make a short cut for this.

Thank you,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Feb 2015, 12:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Strange. I'm getting the 404 error too. However, when it go to the link in a sandboxed Firefox I don't get the error. I really can't figure it out.

Nevertheless, forget about IP2location. Instead, just create a shortcut on your desktop to http://www.whatip.com/. That should work.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Feb 2015, 03:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Joe, I managed to make a short cut for IP2Location as well. In the little information window, at the bottom, there is a crawler that comes up. See attachment. When you click on that you get to their main page. If you create a short cut from that it works!

Regards,

IP.JPG
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.