Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28. Nov 2014, 06:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default How can I transfer data between my 2 computers

I want to be able to transfer all files and folders between the 2 computers, including bookmarks in Firefox, Favorites in IE, movies etc. I am using Windows 7 in my laptop and Windows XP in my desktop.

Apart from the usual USB 2 ports, the laptop has a VGA output only, while the desktop has a serial and parallel port, but I have no cables yet. How can I do this?

Thank you,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Nov 2014, 12:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

http://www.techsupportalert.com/best...g-software.htm
__________________
http://www.t7j7l.blogspot.com/
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Nov 2014, 01:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Thank you for this, but this is not what I need. I need to be able to send files, folders etc. of my choice, whenever I need to, between the two computers. Can this be done using cloud storage or similar facilities?

Regards,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Nov 2014, 04:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Some time ago I heard of this program called TeamViewer, its free for non commercial users. And I have been planning on trying it on my two computers. Read the PDF (you ll see it on the right side), it mentions file transfer. Let me know what you think and if it looks like what you want, I ll try the program out and see how it is.

http://www.teamviewer.com/en/product...tecontrol.aspx

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Nov 2014, 04:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 81
Default

I am far from being remotely close to knowledgeable about computers; but, if I understand what you are wanting to do, I believe what you are needing is to set up a "home group" or "work group" LAN network.

I just blundered through this procedure a few days ago and, much to my amazement, actually got it to work.

No hardware whatsoever was necessary and not a nickel was spent.

I just searched the web for "setting up a home network" and gathered the info I needed from several sources, both you-tube video and typed tutorials.

I managed to get three computers communicating with each other, able to go into either of the computers from whichever one I am using and find/use whatever file or image I am needing.

I also set up our single printer as a shared item between all three computers.

Our main computer is a HP desk-top with Windows 7, another desk-top is an ACER with Windows XP Media Center (which I recently found is capable of doing all sorts of neat things), and the third is a HP lap-top with Windows 7.

I have no idea how I went about accomplishing this feat, but if a dumbie like me can find the info and do it, anyone can.

One thing I will point out, whichever computer you want to remotely access MUST BE ON; it won't work if the computer that has the information you are retrieving is turned OFF.

There are plenty of people on this site that can walk you through this.
BuckSkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Nov 2014, 04:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 81
Default

I will also add that the lap-top is operating wireless and the other two are hard-wired; however, it matters not how they access the internet, wireless or wired, so long as all computers in the network share the same router.

Everything necessary to set up a home-group/work-group is hiding within every computers control panel; they are designed with the ability for networking; you just have to "turn it on".


I also learned that you can set up a long-distance file-sharing network between as many other computers as you wish and they can be the neighbor across the fence or stranded on a deserted island in the Pacific, so long as they have internet access; it takes a bit more doing to set up that kind of network, but once done, only the computers that are members of the network can share files.
BuckSkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Nov 2014, 08:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
Some time ago I heard of this program called TeamViewer, its free for non commercial users. And I have been planning on trying it on my two computers. Read the PDF (you ll see it on the right side), it mentions file transfer. Let me know what you think and if it looks like what you want, I ll try the program out and see how it is.

http://www.teamviewer.com/en/product...tecontrol.aspx

Bo
Thanks Bo, but I think this is too heavy for me. BuckSkin's idea is what suits me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuckSkin View Post
I am far from being remotely close to knowledgeable about computers; but, if I understand what you are wanting to do, I believe what you are needing is to set up a "home group" or "work group" LAN network.

I just blundered through this procedure a few days ago and, much to my amazement, actually got it to work.

No hardware whatsoever was necessary and not a nickel was spent.

I just searched the web for "setting up a home network" and gathered the info I needed from several sources, both you-tube video and typed tutorials.

I managed to get three computers communicating with each other, able to go into either of the computers from whichever one I am using and find/use whatever file or image I am needing.
You are right. I think this is what I need. Unfortunately, it did not work for me. I managed to set up a 'home network' connection in Windows 7. It appears in my list of available networks but with some other icon (which I don't know), instead of the signal strength icon.

I don't even know whether this is properly set up. When I click 'connect', it shows 'connected', 'waiting for users' and the signal strength says 'fair', So it must be OK. Anyway, I have to configure my XP now to connect to Windows 7. I tried this but was unsuccessful. I must be a bigger dumbie than you are, although you don't sound dumbie at all to me!

My 'home group' is already setup in WIN 7 but I don't know whether it is a LAN connection. I have to learn to do that and then get my WIN XP to join the group. That much I have gathered from the Internet. I spent about 5 hours on it and got nowhere. So I have to wait for some help.

Thank you for taking all the trouble to write such a lengthy explanation.

Regards,
__________________
Melita

Last edited by Melita-s; 29. Nov 2014 at 08:58 PM. Reason: To edit content
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Nov 2014, 09:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 81
Default

Like I said, I got my information mostly from You-Tube videos; just search "sharing files between Windows XP and Windows 7"

It is VERY important that you use the exact same name for your work-group in all the computers concerned.

On Edit: However, each individual computer has it's own unique name, i.e. Jim, Frank, Bob, etc., even Cole if there is a fourth computer.

By default, Windows 7 just calls it "workgroup", while XP calls it something else; you just go into the proper window on each computer and rename the work-group/home-group to whatever name suits you, so long is it is EXACTLY the SAME on all units.

For security/privacy reasons, it is recommended that the work-group name you choose is unique, like maybe your dogs name.

E-How has a lot of info on this.

Last edited by BuckSkin; 29. Nov 2014 at 09:26 PM.
BuckSkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Nov 2014, 09:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 81
Default

I forgot to add, in order for stuff to be shared in the network, each folder or function you want to be sharable must be made so.

You do this by right-clicking on the folder or printer or whatever and selecting "properties" then selecting "sharing" in the little window that pops up, then mark the appropriate choices.

When something is properly set up as sharable, there will be a picture of a little hand holding the folder.

For privacy, you only "share" the files and folders you choose.

You don't have to go through the motions with each and every single folder or item; so long as the main folder is shared, then all folders and files contained within it are also shared.

Am I making sense?
BuckSkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Nov 2014, 10:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

The two names are the same 'WORKGROUP' in both computers, because (I did not mention this earlier), my XP is the Professional version. However, my problem is that, the network that I created in WIN 7 is not showing up in XP's 'available networks'.

I need to configure XP for this.

Regards,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.