Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06. Dec 2014, 04:10 AM   #31 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Hi Melita, during installation, I ticked Basic installation for Personal Non commercial use. As well as Advanced settings. In Advanced settings, I didn't select anything. The installation was identical in XP as in the W7.

After installation is over, in both computers, you ll see an screen like in picture 3. Tick File transfer and write the ID number that you see in the Window 7 where it says Partner ID in the XP. And Click Connect to partner.

After that, like in picture 4, you ll see a prompt asking you to write the password that you see in the W7 screen. Click Log on.

Now, both computers are connected and you ll be ready to transfer files. You ll see something like the screen in picture 5. On the left side is my XP and on the right side, my W7. In the XP, you navigate to the files that you like to transfer and after selecting the folder or file. You select on the right hand side where you want the files to go in the W7. Click Send.

At the same time that the two sided Windows explorer opens up in your XP, you ll see a log in the W7, filling up with details about what you are transferring and when its over it tells you. I couldn't upload that picture on this post. I ll post it below.

Bo
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.JPG (31.4 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 2.JPG (23.7 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg 3.JPG (46.0 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg 4.JPG (47.3 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg 5.JPG (50.6 KB, 4 views)
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2014, 04:13 AM   #32 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

This is the log that you ll see in the W7.

Bo
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 6.jpg (72.1 KB, 3 views)
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2014, 08:01 PM   #33 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Thank you Bo, it worked fine. I made both computers partners of each other, so files can go either way. It is quite an amazing program. So easy. There is no need of the messy Workgroup. You can send everything either way.

I have 4 questions:

1. When copying files, are my computers connected to the TeamViewer web site (they must have some way of knowing if this is being used by unscrupulous people for commercial purposes, without paying)?

2. Do you think it uses my Internet bandwidth?

3. With "Remote control", would I be able to connect with a friend's computer in another country?

4. This is the most ambitious idea! Can I make an image of my Operating System of one computer, in the hard disk of the other computer?

Best regards,
__________________
Melita

Last edited by Melita-s; 06. Dec 2014 at 08:09 PM. Reason: corrections
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2014, 09:16 PM   #34 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
4. This is the most ambitious idea! Can I make an image of my Operating System of one computer, in the hard disk of the other computer?
This is possible although it would require a significant amount of research, time and effort to implement.

You would first need to create a VHD image of your old HDD using a tool such as Disk2vhd, then you would need to mount this image as a virtual machine on your new computer using a program such as Virtualbox

Of course you would still need to somehow transfer the created VHD to your new PC. The easiest way to do this would be to use a portable external HDD, and if you had one of those then your original problem of moving files between the two PC's wouldn't actually be a problem.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Dec 2014, 04:04 AM   #35 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
1. When copying files, are my computers connected to the TeamViewer web site (they must have some way of knowing if this is being used by unscrupulous people for commercial purposes, without paying)?

2. Do you think it uses my Internet bandwidth?

3. With "Remote control", would I be able to connect with a friend's computer in another country?
Hi Melita, the program has the option to control remote another computer, you can use it for connecting to your friends computer in a different country. I didn't disable internet when testing the program but you can do that to see if you still can transfer files after doing it. But I would guess an internet connection is required for two computers to connect with each other. When computers are connected, probably TeamViewer knows the IP of the computers that are using their service but I doubt they have access to the files that you transfer. Otherwise, this program wouldn't have as good a reputation as it does.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Dec 2014, 09:44 PM   #36 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sope View Post
This is possible although it would require a significant amount of research, time and effort to implement.

You would first need to create a VHD image of your old HDD using a tool such as Disk2vhd, then you would need to mount this image as a virtual machine on your new computer using a program such as Virtualbox

Of course you would still need to somehow transfer the created VHD to your new PC. The easiest way to do this would be to use a portable external HDD, and if you had one of those then your original problem of moving files between the two PC's wouldn't actually be a problem.
This is beyond me. What a daunting task! So I am happily dropping the matter "...........to fight another day"

Thank you for helping.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
Hi Melita, the program has the option to control remote another computer, you can use it for connecting to your friends computer in a different country. I didn't disable internet when testing the program but you can do that to see if you still can transfer files after doing it. But I would guess an internet connection is required for two computers to connect with each other. When computers are connected, probably TeamViewer knows the IP of the computers that are using their service but I doubt they have access to the files that you transfer. Otherwise, this program wouldn't have as good a reputation as it does.

Bo
I have been experimenting with it. Apart from 'File transfer', I did 'Remote control' and established 'LAN connection' as well. This is a great program.

Best regards,
__________________
Melita

Last edited by Melita-s; 08. Dec 2014 at 09:47 PM. Reason: For correction
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.