Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09. Feb 2015, 10:43 PM   #31 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
If you are going to constantly use Sandboxie for all your browsing and only install well known program, never getting installers from dubious sites, you dont need anything else.
That's what I do too and I haven't had as much as a whiff of malware. Also, I think safe computer habits are as important as anything else in keeping you safe.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
The only time really that you should run Firefox out of the sandbox is for updating the browser. I recommend you change the option in Firefox tools>options>Advanced>Update to either Never check for updates or Check for updates but let me choose.
Also, if you use addons like NoScript you'll have to update them outside the sandbox.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Feb 2015, 02:05 AM   #32 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe A.TT View Post
Also, if you use addons like NoScript you'll have to update them outside the sandbox.
Very true.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Feb 2015, 03:16 PM   #33 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Would it be possible to open Skype in Sandboxie? It does not show up in the right click menu of Skype.

Thank you,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Feb 2015, 04:55 PM   #34 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

You can try running Skype under Sandboxie by navigating to the Sandboxie folder in Start menu, Click Run any program sandboxed, Click DefaultBox, Type skype.exe, OK.

It can also be done by right clicking the Skype shortcut, Send to>DefaultBox

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Feb 2015, 05:34 PM   #35 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
Noted answer to No. 2.
I just thought of something. You can create sandboxed shortcuts for your Web shortcuts, that way this webpages that you have shortcuts for, would run sandboxed automatically as you click them. Navigate to:

Sandboxie control>Configure>Windows shell integration, Click Add shortcut icons, Click DefaultBox, Click OK, find the regular shortcut in one of the menus, like the Desktop if you have the regular one there, Click it. After clicking the shortcut, a sandboxed shortcut will appear at your desktop.

When you click it, the page will open up sandboxed automatically in your DefaultBox. Try and see.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2015, 05:39 PM   #36 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
It can also be done by right clicking the Skype shortcut, Send to>DefaultBox
I used this method. Worked fine but ran in to a little problem. The 'Quit Skype' and 'Sign Out' options in the right click menu of the Skype icon in the task bar (which is available when Skype opens outside Sandboxie), is lost. The only option available is 'Sign Out' from the menu bar on top of the main Skype page. I can sign out from there but immediately the 'sign in' window appears with it's icon in the task bar. I can close this window but I can't get rid of the icon.

I usually get rid of Skype complete with it's icon from the Quit Skype option, for this very reason. Could there be a solution to this?

Thank you,
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2015, 06:27 PM   #37 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
Sandboxie control>Configure>Windows shell integration, Click Add shortcut icons, Click DefaultBox, Click OK, find the regular shortcut in one of the menus, like the Desktop if you have the regular one there, Click it. After clicking the shortcut, a sandboxed shortcut will appear at your desktop.

When you click it, the page will open up sandboxed automatically in your DefaultBox. Try and see.
Bo
Thank you, this works fine! I don't suppose there is a way to get rid of the redundant 'normal' short cut, after creating the sand boxed one. I tried and found that without the former the latter does not work!

Regards,
__________________
Melita

Last edited by Melita-s; 13. Feb 2015 at 06:28 PM. Reason: for correction
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2015, 08:43 PM   #38 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
I don't suppose there is a way to get rid of the redundant 'normal' short cut, after creating the sand boxed one.
You cant delete the original shortcuts. But to keep your Desktop clean, you could put all the original web shortcuts in one folder, like in the Desktop or move them somewhere in your My documents folder. If you move the regular shortcuts from your desktop, the sandboxed ones will still get created in your desktop. If I was you, I think putting then in My documents folder would work best.

If you do that, when you are creating the sandboxed shortcuts, after you get to this part:

Sandboxie control>Configure>Windows shell integration, Click Add shortcut icons, Click DefaultBox, Click OK, find the regular shortcut in one of the menus...

Instead of looking for the web shortcuts in the Desktop menu like you did previously, look for then now in the All files and Folder Menu, Drive C, Users, Melita, My documents. As before, when you click the web shortcut, the sandboxed one will appear at your desktop.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2015, 09:10 PM   #39 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Melita-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
I used this method. Worked fine but ran in to a little problem. The 'Quit Skype' and 'Sign Out' options in the right click menu of the Skype icon in the task bar (which is available when Skype opens outside Sandboxie), is lost. The only option available is 'Sign Out' from the menu bar on top of the main Skype page. I can sign out from there but immediately the 'sign in' window appears with it's icon in the task bar. I can close this window but I can't get rid of the icon.

I usually get rid of Skype complete with it's icon from the Quit Skype option, for this very reason. Could there be a solution to this?

Thank you,
I sorted this one out. In addition to the large icon in the task bar, there is a small one that appears near the clock. Found 'Quit Skype' option on it's right click menu.
__________________
Melita
Melita-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2015, 09:18 PM   #40 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melita-s View Post
I sorted this one out. In addition to the large icon in the task bar, there is a small one that appears near the clock. Found 'Quit Skype' option on it's right click menu.
You mean like this.
http://i.imgur.com/XZlkWS9.png

A friend who uses Skype send me the picture. Nice to see you getting along so well with SBIE.

I think it would be a great idea for you to run Skype in its own sandbox, Would you like to know how to do that?

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.