Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17. Nov 2014, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Alberton, South Africa
Posts: 33
Default Windows Vista shuts down

I know that is most probably not the right forum, but I need urgent assistance.

My windows sometimes closes down unexpectedly and I do not know the reason. I would like to download “Windows Vista Repair Tool” from [edited]

IS IT SAFE?

The website wants you to download the repair tool and run a SCAN and a FIX ALL

I am not a technical boffin.

Regards

Last edited by Anupam; 17. Nov 2014 at 04:49 PM. Reason: Edited out commercial site
Andre_f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Nov 2014, 04:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

The website you mentioned seems to be a commercial site, and therefore, we cannot help you with that.

If you decide to go with their support, you are on your own.

You have not given details about your problem. Is it a laptop, or a desktop?

Do you mean shutdown when you say Windows closes down?

Does the system shut down automatically? Does it startup after that? Does it shutdown when you are doing something particular?

There can be several reasons for this problem, which is difficult to tell without knowing the details.

There is no tool available, which will scan for all types of problems, hardware or software, and fix them automatically. There are different solutions for different problems, and therefore, details are required for that problem, in order for it to be solved.

I wouldn't recommend downloading that tool and running it.

Please provide details in order for us to understand the problem. The problem can be hardware or software related. Details are needed.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Nov 2014, 08:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Alberton, South Africa
Posts: 33
Default

Thanks Anupam for get my mind right about the site and not to download.

It is not an thing that happens frequently. once in about 3-4 days. When it happens again, I would get the error messages and post it.

It is a Laptop

Windows shuts down and then restarts again, but then my Internet explorer becomes all funny. No menu bar for instance. If I then restart the machine it comes right. This happens when I am not active on the machine.

Regards
Andre_f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Nov 2014, 08:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Thanks for posting the details.

Yes, next time it happens, please do note the error message(s) and post, as it will help in identifying the problem.

You can try using an alternative browser, like Firefox, instead of Internet Explorer. IE is slow, and generally not safe anyways.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2014, 07:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Alberton, South Africa
Posts: 33
Default

Anupam

The shut down happens so quickly that you cannot really see the errors. This happend about 5 days ago. Not regularly.

It comes up with a blue screen and words that I could make out is:-

"DUMPING PHYSICAL MEMORY TO DISK"

I've search the net but what is available does not give me much info. (Tomsguide.com)


Can I install Firefox and IE on my laptop and use both?

Last edited by Andre_f; 30. Nov 2014 at 07:09 AM.
Andre_f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2014, 01:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default

Have a look for a folder called C:\Windows\Minidump\ and there should be some files in there that detail the error.
Zip and attach one of those to a post so we can check it for you.

A good tool for quickly reading those dumps is one of Nirsoft's tools called BlueScreenView.





Yes you can use both.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2014, 07:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Andre_f, Burn-IT already provided an alternative of memory dumps. Please do that if you can. Please choose the latest file by date and time.

He already answered your other question.

You can post the information about the blue screen too. A blue screen error has two main parts which are required in order for diagnosis.

Take a look at this pic:



Courtesy: http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/windows-bsod.html

In the pic, you will notice a message "TRAP_CAUSE_UNKNOWN". This is the error message, that will be required.

Next you will notice in the pic, an error code: 0x00000012. This is the STOP code, which is also required.

So, next time a blue screen occurs, look for these two identifying things. The error message and the error code can be different in your case.. but the format will be similar. Please note this and share here.

The mini dump files contain these two things too. So, either or both will work.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Dec 2014, 07:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Alberton, South Africa
Posts: 33
Default

Hi guys.

Thanks for the feedback.

When the blue screen happens again, I will check and see if I could notice the needed info.

Please find attached the latest file dump form (Windows\minidump)

I hope it comes out OK as I had to copy it because I could not attach it directly from Minidump. It's Zipped
Attached Files
File Type: zip Minidump.zip (21.9 KB, 5 views)
Andre_f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Dec 2014, 09:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Checked the mini dump file on BlueScreenView, and it shows the offending file to be ntfs.sys.

As I am not that knowledgeable, I cannot say what might be causing this.

At this point, I can only advise you to run checkdisk on your hard drive. Please see here how to run checkdisk.

http://www.geekstogo.com/forum/topic...s-7-and-vista/

Maybe someone else will offer a better advice. If not, we will redirect you to another good support forum, where knowledgeable people can offer good advice.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.