Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08. Sep 2014, 04:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
Default Changing monitor resolution in Windows 7 Pro

I recently changed my computer from Windows 7 Home to Windows 7 Pro. Unfortunately Pro now has set my monitor resolution incorrectly at 1024 x 768 and I need to set it correctly for my Acer 22" to 1680 x 1050 but Windows doesn't offer that resolution. I've tried using the desktop rt click>Screen Resolution>Resolution route as well as working from the device manager but I can't find the setting I need. I know my monitor will support that setting as I was using it with my Windows 7 Home without problems. Could someone guide me on this, please?
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Sep 2014, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,120
Default

HTH
http://www.dummies.com/how-to/conten...windows-7.html
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Sep 2014, 04:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks for the reply, torres-no-tan-magnifico, but as I said in my post, this method does not give me the desired resolution as an option.
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Sep 2014, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Maybe the answer in this superuser thread may help?

Failing that, you could try updating your video driver.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Sep 2014, 11:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks for your reply, Sope, but it doesn't help.
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Sep 2014, 11:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

1680x1050 is a 16:10 aspect ratio rather than the much more common 16:9 ratio. If you don't have it then you usually need to obtain the correct drivers for the monitor.

Your display adapter will also need to support the same mode. So you might need to update the graphics card driver as well.

You would have had the correct drivers for Windows 7 and I would have expected an upgrade to Pro to keep the correct drivers. So did you do a new install rather than an upgrade? That would explain the change if you did.

The option suggested by Sope is unlikely to help you because it suggests un-hiding the modes that the monitor driver cannot display. That would show you the modes that the graphics card driver supports but the monitor driver doesn't so it is risky to use them.
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.

Last edited by Remah; 08. Sep 2014 at 11:31 PM. Reason: My answer crossed over with OPs response
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Sep 2014, 01:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks, Remah. My monitor is, indeed, a 16:10 (22W). Let me restate my problem as I misspoke in my original posting...sorry, everyone.

My original computer (HP8100) was running Windows 7 Pro (64-bit) with all the same hardware, monitor correctly set to 1680x1050. Suddenly Windows started acting bizarre and I decided to do a clean re-install. After the re-install the monitor wasn't correctly set any longer. Continuing details as originally posted. Sorry for my blunder.
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Sep 2014, 06:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

It certainly sounds like it's graphics card driver issue.
I would try downloading and installing the latest drivers from the manufacturers website.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Sep 2014, 08:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks, Sope.........on it!
weybrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Sep 2014, 04:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 555
Default

It is not the graphics drivers as such that are at fault.
There is an inf file that defines what resolutions and frequencies to use.

see: http://www.sevenforums.com/graphic-c...esolution.html
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.