Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02. Sep 2014, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Default 32 and 64 bit operating systems

if we say that a 32 bit processor can actually adress 4 gb of RAM,then in normal cases also,we have many processors which are 64 bit but we have only 2 Gb RAM when newly bought,so is it necessary that that if we have 64 bit processor it can adress any no.of memory locations.

so actually i just want to ask the relationship between processor bits and RAM installed. becoz nowdays ,64 bit processors are commonly used,and i really dnt knw its reason,plz explain.

that is what should be the maximum size of RAM for a 64 bit and 32 bit processor
RADHA GOGIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Sep 2014, 02:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

64-bit processors are the current stage in the development of desktop CPUs:
Year CPU Bits Example CPU
1971 4-bit Intel 4004
1972 8-bit Intel 8008
1978 16-bit Intel 8086/8088
1985 32-bit Intel 80386
2003 64-bit AMD Athlon 64 (K8)

The address space available to each CPU increases faster than the installed RAM in a workstation that's why most PCs use a miniscule part of the available limit.
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.

Last edited by Remah; 03. Sep 2014 at 02:27 AM. Reason: Accidentally posted before completing
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.