Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10. Jun 2014, 04:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 40
Red face Factory restore did me in

I did a factory restore on an Aspire minitower and apparently it blew my computer to the point where I cannot boot or rather the power goes on I hear a beep and a
line on the screen flashes on in the upper left hand corner saying PC and then
everything goes blank.

I tried system and recovery discs to no avail. Very puzzling. I've done a number of restores without this experience. The monitor seems ok, all the plugs are ok,
it was working fine before restore which seemingly created some software issues that are preventing computer from booting up.

I've tried,, of course, safe mode F!2, F1, F2 etc. Ctrl, alt, delete and that ends my
repertoire of knowledge.

Any similar experiences, thoughts, ideas, suggestions, philosophy?

regards,

Hugheen
Hugheen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Jun 2014, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

There could be several issues in play here from the BIOS up but maybe as a first step you could get access to another machine to download and prepare a rescue disk. There are quite a few of these available. This is one we published as a hot find a short time ago.

http://www.techsupportalert.com/cont...leshooting.htm

AVG also produce one that is a much smaller download.

http://www.softpedia.com/get/PORTABL...escue-CD.shtml
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Jun 2014, 11:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 40
Default

Thanks Midnight Cowboy but I actually did this. I think I'm going to throw in the towel and head for some store help

Thanks anyhow,

Hugheen
Hugheen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Jun 2014, 12:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
eyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Planet X
Posts: 886
Default

try running a live version of linux from CD/USB? you may need to reformat the harddrive, no reason why you couldn't get to the bios menu though. You could always throw in an installation CD to see if it works if live cd works.

just download a copy of windows and make installation cd, it's legal if you have windows key already
eyeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Jun 2014, 09:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 40
Question The plot thickens

Thanks for thoughts and tips.

I had recovery and system cds but the minitower accepts only flash drives so
I transferred the cd stuff to the flash drives and tried many times (too many)
to get it going to no avail all I got was a beep, a "PC" in the upper left hand corner and then a blank screen.

I'm told and maybe you could confirm this that copying cd recovery and boot material to a flash drive won' t result in anything happening. This seems to confirm this view.

I could use (and buy) an external drive with a USB connection and see if the computer will respond. I understand one needs to do something to the BIOS
in conjunction (afterwards I assume because I can't access it now) but I don't
understand what. I am somewhat familiar with BIOS from past experience.

What do you think of this plot?

regards, Hugheen
Hugheen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Jun 2014, 06:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,285
Default

No, you can't just copy bootable datal to a flash drive. You need to use a specialist program such as UNetbootin or Win32 Disk Imager.

http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/
http://sourceforge.net/projects/win32diskimager/

I'm with eyeb that a Linux live session is the optimum choice here. As you don't need to use this as an installed system, best to choose something straightforward and without bloat. I'd suggest Trisquel.

http://trisquel.info/
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jun 2014, 01:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
joeguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 311
Default

Hugheen from what you described you may be chasing your tail trying to resolve this from a software standpoint. Here is another suggestion if you feel comfortable working inside your computer. With power off, remove hard drive cable, remove RAM chips. Make sure the RAM sockets are free of dust then re-seat the RAM chips, power on computer. When computer boots and doesn't find anything to boot to, power the computer off. Re-connect the hard drive cable then power on. If these steps don't work you most likely have some serious more advanced hardware issue. Remember windows doesn't control the computer until it boots, the BIOS chip does, so if Windows isn't loading, its not the problem, true of any OS.
__________________
To err is human, to blame it on a computer is even more so.
joeguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.