Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05. Jan 2014, 01:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 187
Default curiosity only: allowing computer to save passwords to sites

is it safe to save passwords when you visit a site (requiring registration) and your computer prompts you (each time) to decide if you want to save the password? i have never used this feature, and from a common sense standpoint it sounds like a bad idea to me to save user password information to your computer or to the site your visiting

also, can the prompt box to save passwords be turned off somehow? (vista home)

thanks in advance, and Happy New Year to each and all.
placou 1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2014, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,323
Default

You are talking about saving passwords for the sites on the browser, right? It's safe . It's only on your computer, and not on any site, so it's safe. Don't save passwords for sensitive sites, like banking though, and any other on which you think your info might be sensitive. Also, you can safeguard it even better by putting a master password. Firefox allows that, and I think Chrome too. Just remember not to forget the master password .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2014, 02:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
sicknero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: England
Posts: 657
Default

Just in addition to Anupam's comment : )

Quote:
also, can the prompt box to save passwords be turned off somehow? (vista home)
Yes, it's a browser setting not a Windows one (assuming that you don't have some third-party password manager installed).

It depends what browser you are using so you will need to look through Settings/Options in your browser until you find a setting for "remember passwords" or something similar.
For instance in Firefox you need Options then the Security tab and "Remember Passwords for Sites". In Maxthon it's called Magic Fill, while in IE it's Internet Options-Content-Autocomplete settings.
sicknero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2014, 02:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,323
Default

Thanks for that sicknero... I forgot to address that part of the query.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Jan 2014, 04:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 187
Default

thank you, i now understand.
placou 1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.