Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09. Dec 2013, 04:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,122
Exclamation Corrupt driver after malware attack

I am currently trying to fix a relative's computer after a malware attack - the PC is running Windows 7 Ultimate.

I cannot login to Windows or boot into Safe Mode and so I have used Kaspersky Rescue CD to remove 11 trojans.

However, I am still getting the following error message when attempting to boot into Windows (it was being displayed prior to malware removal):

Windows\system32\Drivers\aswRvrt.sys
Error; 0x0000098

I can locate the corrupted driver via Kaspersky File Manage, but as AFAIK I can only delete the file or rename it - the file is within Avast.

TIA for any help.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Dec 2013, 07:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,342
Default

I'd like to suggest doing a Google search of the filename and error message. I did and found the following:

http://www.techspot.com/community/to...rt-sys.192382/

It sounds like it may be an Avast issue.


P.S. There are several posts in the Avast forum about this file causing an error message and a BSOD.
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Dec 2013, 03:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,122
Default

Thanks for the link and suggestions : I had already read the techspot page, but hadn't visited the Avast forums prior to your post.
I've had no success in solving this problem and my relative's don't have an installation disc!
The download speed of their internet connection is also very slow ie downloading a W7 ISO would take forever and, even if I succeeded in making an installation CD, they don't have the licence code!!
There is no sticker on the outside of the PC casing, so I am left pulling out the remaining hair on my head.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Dec 2013, 03:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

You can use a *nix Live CD to get the product key too. There's more than one way to do this e.g. How to Recover Windows and Software Keys from a Broken Computer
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Dec 2013, 05:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,122
Default

Many thanks for the link: I've downloaded ProduKey but it can't for some reason detect a key from the config folder. After placing the config folder within a system32 folder and placing the latter within a Windows folder - I then got the following message:
Error 1314: A required privilege is not held by the client.
NB I manually made the Windows and the system32 folders and they were empty of any files.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Dec 2013, 07:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,122
Default

Update: I am currently downloading a W7 ISO using FlashGet and I have also installed ImgBurn. Unfortunately, the problem of finding the product key remains unresolved!
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)

Last edited by torres-no-tan-magnifico; 10. Dec 2013 at 07:51 PM. Reason: removed extraneous exclamation mark! ;-)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Dec 2013, 08:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Edtor
 
v.laurie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torres-no-tan-magnifico View Post
Update: I am currently downloading a W7 ISO using FlashGet and I have also installed ImgBurn. Unfortunately, the problem of finding the product key remains unresolved!
Once you have a disc, you may be able to repair the existing installation without the product key: http://www.techsupportalert.com/cont...ation-disc.htm
__________________
Vic
v.laurie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Dec 2013, 08:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,332
Default

Even if you do not have the full Windows installation disc, you can use a Windows 7 System Repair Disc, which you can make from another Windows 7 system, and use it on any Windows 7 system.

From there, you can run msconfig from the command prompt to remove the driver that is being failed to load, or causing problem, or remove other startup processes causing problems. Or, you can run Startup repair too, to see if it solves the problem.

The procedure is here for creating a system repair disc:

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...sc-create.html
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Dec 2013, 03:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,122
Default

@Anupam, thanks for the info and link: I don't have access to a W7 PC and therefore, can't use Windows 7 System Repair Disc.

@Vic, unfortunately, I couldn't repair the original version installed on the PC using a W7 install DVD. Many thanks for the link to the ISO!

I am now attempting a full install of W7 (System Repair and System Restore both failed to work) and have the following question:

The PC has 3 partitions:

Partition 1 is only 100 MB and has 70 MB free (system files?) System

Partition 2 is 102.7 GB and has 70 GB free Primary

Partition 3 is 195.3 GB and has 195 GB free (data) Primary

I obviously can't use Partition 1, but should I use Partition 2?
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)

Last edited by torres-no-tan-magnifico; 11. Dec 2013 at 03:39 PM. Reason: added more info about partitions
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Dec 2013, 03:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,122
Default

I have decided to wait until they can obtain the product key, from their previous 'IT man', before I do a fresh install.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.