Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15. Nov 2013, 12:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default Laptop caught in update/restart loop

After I attempted to install the latest MS updates on my laptop (Vista Home Premium) it is now in a continual loop of saying do not turn off computer...blah blah blah...restarting, then attempting to install the same updates again. I have tried the Vista rescue disk and booting off that but it is not even being recognized. This happened before but that time I had a restore point-this time I did not. Last known good configuration is not successful either. I need to acquire my bookmarks, documents and favorites from browsers as well as music if possible. Thanks for any help.
newbie65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Nov 2013, 12:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

The disk is probably not "being recognized" because you don't have it as a boot option or it is too far down the boot priority list. To fix this go into the BIOS setup - the key you press at startup will vary depending upon the laptop manufacturer but it is often F1 or F2. Some laptops have a special key for startup options e.g. Lenovo ThinkPads have a blue ThinkVantage key.

Do you have a Windows install disk? If you do then you can try What are the system recovery options in Windows?
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Nov 2013, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 15
Default Laptop caught in update/restart loop-RESOLVED

I resolved the problem of being stuck in the loop by using two command prompts while in safe mode-in effect removing the updates that presented the conflict then rebooting and "a little clean" up with CCleaner and BleachBit. This totally resolved the issue. Everything now smooth. Hopefully the needed MS updates will not create the same problem when I attempt to install next time.
talkback10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Nov 2013, 01:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Editor
 
rhiannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Land of Enchantment
Posts: 728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by talkback10 View Post
I resolved the problem of being stuck in the loop by using two command prompts while in safe mode-in effect removing the updates that presented the conflict then rebooting and "a little clean" up with CCleaner and BleachBit. This totally resolved the issue. Everything now smooth. Hopefully the needed MS updates will not create the same problem when I attempt to install next time.
This is fairly well documented in Windows Vista. I've had to fix two computers that got caught in that endless loop. Glad you got it fixed.
rhiannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.