Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10. Nov 2013, 10:39 AM   #21 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Coupeville, WA
Posts: 37
Default Dell Insp. 1501 - Continued

Hello all, if you don't hear from me for a few day's, I have to change the headlight switch on my 1992 Dodge Dakota - A piece of junk, from purchase date. With one hand, I don't know how long the repair will take.......Please do not close thread, I'll be back!

Phil
Phil856745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Nov 2013, 02:50 AM   #22 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Coupeville, WA
Posts: 37
Default Woke to dead WiFi

Actually it was yesterday morning, when I logged into the Dell Insp. 1501, there was not the correct icon in task bar. Instead it was "yellowed out", eventually I discovered I had to press a reset button on back of WiFi modem? Or is it a router?

A few seconds later, the WiFi was working again, another joy of living on an island, Comcast (our ISP), has only 2 service people to cover a 31 mile long Island....

Phil
Phil856745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Nov 2013, 02:54 AM   #23 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

[QUOTE=Phil856745;94674]Actually it was yesterday morning, when I logged into the Dell Insp. 1501, there was not the correct icon in task bar. Instead it was "yellowed out", eventually I discovered I had to press a reset button on back of WiFi modem? Or is it a router?/QUOTE]

OK, so it wasn't a laptop problem.
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Nov 2013, 04:25 AM   #24 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Coupeville, WA
Posts: 37
Default No Not Dell 1501

It appears to be our ISP, they have a monopoly on the Island!

Thanks, Phil

Don't block that light!
Phil856745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Nov 2013, 10:09 AM   #25 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Coupeville, WA
Posts: 37
Default

I'm back, the storm has passed, we often lose our connection if the wind blows, and it did just that, for3 days! Although the DVD seems to be working?? In the c mos it still shows with an ! point befofe it's entry, and won't allow me to chage the boot order?

Phil
I've been a bit under the weather, so I'll sign off for now!
Phil856745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Nov 2013, 03:09 AM   #26 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Coupeville, WA
Posts: 37
Default The Brick Dell 1501

Hello all, to continue now. I've run every MS fixit, DVD still shows ! point in c mos! It seems to explore media, When I ran the default Format on a DVD-R, it wanted to write a tiny <1Kb file to the DVD, I voided process, unsure as to why it wanted to do this.
I cut & pasted MS's registry repair to word pad.

Question(s)
1. Should I run the registry compactor, or reg backup first?
2. If I remember the registry, needs to be backed up in a specific way, should I screw up the registry alteration?
3. is it .bak, .BAK, or something else?

Thanks so much!
Phil

ps: at present I have no email access, my ISP, is forever changing things, I'm relatively sure it was a change they made as surch results get numerous results, so private message for now.
Phil856745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Nov 2013, 08:20 AM   #27 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

1. Backup first before applying registry fix. I wouldn't bother compacting the registry.
2. If using ERUNT it handles the backup for you and saves with a program to restore the backup.
3. Not sure what you mean.

Re the DVD, I'd like to clarify where the exclamation mark is visible. Is it visible in Windows when viewing the drive properties / device manager, or is it in the BIOS/CMOS setup? I've just not seen it in the PC setup before.

What was the name of the file it tried to write?
Was it a write once DVD (DVD-R, DVD+R) or a rewritable DVD (DVD-RW, DVD+RW)?
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Dec 2013, 10:43 AM   #28 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Coupeville, WA
Posts: 37
Default

I'm back, I should let you know, I may be spotty, bad weather = no connection. Exclamation point in BIOS/CMOS, not in device manager.
Media DVD + R, 4.7GB. Now I can format "live file & Mastered", the file that this system wanted to write? Something like pc20 failed to install IDE drivers, I need to clean off the desktop, then I'll attempt the registry fix. Still unable to boot to (from?) DVD, Great times ahead for all!
Phil- Keep that basket off! And thanks!
Phil856745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Dec 2013, 10:40 PM   #29 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Coupeville, WA
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil856745 View Post
I'm back, I should let you know, I may be spotty, bad weather = no connection. Exclamation point in BIOS/CMOS, not in device manager.
Media DVD + R, 4.7GB. Now I can format "live file & Mastered", the file that this system wanted to write? Something like pc20 failed to install IDE drivers, I need to clean off the desktop, then I'll attempt the registry fix. Still unable to boot to (from?) DVD, Great times ahead for all!
Phil- Keep that basket off! And thanks!
Added 10 hours later, file read "The driver \Driver\PxHelp20 failed to load for the device IDE\CdRomOptiarc_DVD+-RW_AD-5560A__________DD11___\5&2ae6c3c&0&0.0.0.
Phil added 1232am PST 11-6-2013

Phil added information
Phil856745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Dec 2013, 08:11 AM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

pxhelp20 appears to be used for CD burning. See what is pxhelp20.sys?

On the Dell Inspiron 1501 with the OPTIARC AD-5560A there is a driver update to fix a known fault with Roxio 3.5. Roxio uses the burning engine that has pxhelp20 so it may work. But before you use it check that all the drivers are up-to-date from Dell. I can't remember if you have already done this. You can use the Dell Inspiron 1501 drivers page but it is better to click on the button for Dell to "Analyze system for updates".
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.