Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09. Aug 2013, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Georgia , USA
Posts: 68
Default Windows Host Process (rundll320 not working

I am having a recent problem with the Windows host process rundll32 not working. When I go into the Nvidia Control and click "help" then "update" , a window comes up telling me that Windows host process (rundll32) has stopped working.

I have used the command prompt to run sfc , but no luck here. I have used something several times in the past , but cannot find where it is. You schedule it to scan and /or repair windows system files on the next boot up. But I cannot find where this is located. I went to the task scheduler and that is not it either. i guess I will just have to reformat my computer to get this back. Can any help me?

Thanks so much in advance.

I have Vista 64 bit Home Premium
Jillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Aug 2013, 08:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Edtor
 
v.laurie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,380
Default

Rundll32 is involved with many functions. It is used in conjunction with DLL files. When you get an error message about rundll32, it typically means something is wrong with the DLL file or process, not rundll32 itself. I would suspect something wrong with an Nvidia function before I thought rundll32 was at fault. Are you having problems with other functions as well?
__________________
Vic
v.laurie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Aug 2013, 06:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jillian View Post
...I have used something several times in the past , but cannot find where it is. You schedule it to scan and /or repair windows system files on the next boot up. But I cannot find where this is located...
Not sure if you are referring to checking a drive for errors. If it is, then from Windows Explorer right click the drive then click Properties-->Tools.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Aug 2013, 06:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,365
Default

I too suspect the issue might lie with your Nvidia drivers.

Please ignore any search results you might see stating that a registry cleaner will resolve this issue because using one is more likely to make things worse.

First off, if you have something like an HP, I would search their support forum in case this is a specific issue to them with a recognized fix.

Otherwise, my advice is to backup your important files, download the latest Nvidia drivers for your machine (only from the Nvidia site!), uninstall your current drivers and then install the new set.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Aug 2013, 06:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Georgia , USA
Posts: 68
Default

Thanks everyone for your help. I do believe it is with the Nvidia drivers. I redownloaded them , but now the little window that was coming up about that rundll32 does not come up. But it woun't let me manually check for updates. Other wise , I am not having any other problems.
Jillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.