Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02. Jun 2013, 10:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 187
Default Issue in saving scans to computer

equipment-lexmark series 3430 all in one printer,scanner, copy and fax.
computer- emachine t3516 desktop, windows xp home, sp3 all updated, mse and some stand alones.

i am not able to scan multiple pages into a new folder i placed on desktop, the scanner appears to work for each page but i only find the last page scanned. i had not used the printer/scanner in quite some time but it has remained connected to computer, not for network use, but specifically for the emachine.

i decided to reinstall the printer by proper removal of programs related to the lexmark, i then re-installed it using the software provided by company. (cd)

i tried again to scan 4 pages into the folder, but i only find the very last one of the 4 scanned.

i feel this is something simple, but i have not done this in some year(s)

Additional Question.... did the re-installation update anything which could have been outdated? (drivers) ect. thanks for your time.
placou 1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jun 2013, 11:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
joeguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 311
Default

Hi Placou, Before getting too involved with the significance of the file location, let's find out if you have basic scanning ability. Has it worked before? Does this only happen with multi-page documents? Have you done a scan preview to makes sure all the information is populating from the scan? Have you tried printing it to make sure all the information is being captured correctly? Have you tried saving to another location? If you have done these things with no change in results I would check Lexmark for driver updates as some of the later updates of XP SP3 made some devices incompatible and/or created issues. You may try comparing your driver version to what is available online, the CD packaged with the device maybe outdated as is often the case.
__________________
To err is human, to blame it on a computer is even more so.
joeguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jun 2013, 02:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 187
Default

it has not had problems in past scanning or printing, i dont use other features, cant say bout fax, etc. multiple pages have not previously been an issue to scan and save.

would my electric going out and an extended loss of connection last night have anything to do with this?

i think, as embarrassing as it is to say, i am simply overwritting the existing file in the folder each time i save it but dont know how to re set it
placou 1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jun 2013, 08:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
joeguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by placou 1968 View Post
would my electric going out and an extended loss of connection last night have anything to do with this? i think, as embarrassing as it is to say, i am simply overwritting the existing file in the folder each time i save it but dont know how to re set it
Answer to power loss, not likely. Are you using the scan button on the printer to scan or are you starting the scan from the computer?
__________________
To err is human, to blame it on a computer is even more so.
joeguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jun 2013, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 187
Default

im using the scanners buttons alone, i set it from copy to scan and i see on my computer screen an " activity monitor ( for lack of better term). this is the activity monitor i commonly associate with scanning i have done in the past.

i preview each paper, because i have to "flip" them horizontally. i look at it prior to sending to folder, but when sent i only have the last page.

i am pretty familiar with this process, but i,m overlooking something easy i believe.

i,m going to paraphrase here, could the "file already exists do you want to overwrite?" warning. if that warning has a "do not ask/show warning again, i would have checked that some time back.
placou 1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jun 2013, 03:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,346
Default

Most scanners have both a scanner button and a program or icon that you can use on your desktop. The program on your desktop should have some settings that you can check. I suspect that it somewhere within your scanner settings in your desktop program.
__________________
Been here since the beginning.
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jun 2013, 04:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,345
Default

Since atleast the last page is getting scanned, it means that the scanner is alright, and the drivers too are installed properly, and the scanner is working. If there was any issue with the driver, it would not have scanned even a single copy, and the scanner would not have worked at all. Therefore, my advice would be to leave the drivers issue.

I will suggest that you download the manual for your scanner, and go through it. Assuming I have the right model number for your scanner machine, this is where you will find the manual.

http://support.lexmark.com/index?pag...serlocale=EN#6

Click the Manuals tab to locate the manual.

I downloaded the User's Guide, but you should download both manuals.

In the User's Guide, there is a section for Scanning, which you can read. It shows you how to scan text only documents, images, etc. There is also a section for "Customizing scan settings" in the manual, in the Scanning section. Go through it. As in the manual, you will see a setting to scan multiple images before output. Maybe that has to be set in your case. So, please look at it. You can look at other settings too, as in the manual, and set them according to your preferences.

As for the old scans being overwritten, I think you will have to use the option of "Save as" .. as outlined in the manual. That will give a different name to the scans each time and avoid overwriting.

There might be a setting too, for this, to automatically rename the scans, or something like that. Don't know for sure... so just go through the settings of the scanner.

In such cases, rather than diving straight away into drivers, or registry, or any such stuff, you should first consult the manual of the hardware.

Good luck.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jun 2013, 05:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
joeguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 311
Default

I would also try using the windows scanner and camera wizard from your PC. It may be the printer's built in utility causing the issue. Using the windows utility to perform the function will help to assess if the issue is the utility or the driver.
__________________
To err is human, to blame it on a computer is even more so.
joeguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jun 2013, 01:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 187
Default

luckly, i still have the manual, i went thru it and it seems like im doing the scan/procedure as directed and the way i recall doing scans from the past.

further look at the only page saved (last page) i find it saved as a jpeg file and is opening into a windows photo editor as an .rtf file (if editor is correct term) and offers a slide show.

now for my moment of truth, i have been sending the item by right click, send to, rather than save as, "name" save in "desktop"

if im correct, all i need to do is open scanned text items with a different program offered maybe word or ms works? THEN, file, save as, give name, save in "desktop"?
placou 1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jun 2013, 03:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

@ placou 1968, it often difficult for others to provide help with insufficient information. For example, through your own investigation, you found the following:
Quote:
... i find it saved as a jpeg file...
My own opinion is that's where your problem lies. When JPEG is selected as the type of file to save your document as, I don't think it'll save more than a single page at a time. I think the solution is when you launch the scanner's program on your computer, look for where to change the type of output file format, then change it to something like PDF. On my own Epson all-in-one printer, that's how it works.

Furthermore, IMHO, this is a demonstration of how important providing sufficient and relevant information helps others to help you. Sometimes investigating, gathering and researching such information yourself can even lead to you solving the problem yourself - and that can be very satisfying and a great boost to self-confidence.

Quote:
...if im correct, all i need to do is open scanned text items with a different program offered maybe word or ms works?
No. That wouldn't work. Once the output file from the scanner is JPEG, it can only be opened by programs that are capable of handling JPEG files. IMO, the solutions is as stated above. Please try it and report back.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.