Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25. May 2013, 03:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 195
Default Won't boot from iso

Hi guys: im trying to boot an Linux ISO that i made, either from a CD or USB but my laptop sony vgn- 195ep won't see the cd or USB,upon restart i enter the bios and change the drive it has dvd but not usb selection,i change to dvd but no avail.And the USB Stick it seems that it turns off the usb stick during booting ,.Im i missing something? thanks
Ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. May 2013, 04:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,219
Default

Depending on your bios/MB type, have you tried repeatedly pressing F10 or F11 during the boot process to see if it throws up a screen with a DVD option?
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. May 2013, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
Depending on your bios/MB type, have you tried repeatedly pressing F10 or F11 during the boot process to see if it throws up a screen with a DVD option?
Yes in this case is a Sony Vayo VGN 195EP and the key for bios is f2 but it only shows Hd and DVD sellections i sellect dvd and save f10 and it goes right to win xp boot up.
i tried both stick and dvd on my other laptop satellit 355l and samething,
Ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25. May 2013, 07:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,296
Default

Just check if the ISO has burnt properly onto the CD. Try opening the CD from within Windows, to check if it opens and shows the contents.

Also, check if the ISO downloaded properly, or not. Do the md5 sum check.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26. May 2013, 12:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Just check if the ISO has burnt properly onto the CD. Try opening the CD from within Windows, to check if it opens and shows the contents.

Also, check if the ISO downloaded properly, or not. Do the md5 sum check.
Thanks,I was able to make the CD ISO after some struggle and waisted a coupler DVD,but well allways learning,also on the medle of the struggle
i did lost the Win xp but i was able to install Debian GNU/Linux 7.0.0-wheezy, also could make an USB boot stick a piece of advise not to use Unetbootin this one is peice of crap never could do nothing with it rather use
Pen Drive and it will save you time and patience.

now that i'm set can you please tell me how to config. thwe wireless


i have these on screen

Editing Wireless connection 1


SSID


Mode ad-hoc

band auto

BSSID


Device Mac Adress

Clone Mac Adress
Ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. May 2013, 01:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivtec View Post

now that i'm set can you please tell me how to config. thwe wireless
Can't help with this as I'm not familiar with a pure Debian system. I have used others which use Debian as a base but these are much more user friendly and therefore a lot easier to configure. I'm also only familiar with how to set these up using either DSL or a mobile broadband USB modem.

As an afterthought, if you Google the details of your wireless card followed by "Linux configuration", the search results should reveal distros that have issues with this and hopefully some that don't too. From these you can maybe choose something else that is more easy to set up.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.

Last edited by MidnightCowboy; 26. May 2013 at 01:49 AM. Reason: Afterthought
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. May 2013, 03:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
Can't help with this as I'm not familiar with a pure Debian system. I have used others which use Debian as a base but these are much more user friendly and therefore a lot easier to configure. I'm also only familiar with how to set these up using either DSL or a mobile broadband USB modem.

As an afterthought, if you Google the details of your wireless card followed by "Linux configuration", the search results should reveal distros that have issues with this and hopefully some that don't too. From these you can maybe choose something else that is more easy to set up.
thanks bro this is my ethernet card output what do you make of this do i need the drivers if so where do i get them,
i hate to go back to winxp if i don't fix this one that have the recovery disks for ,but i kidna like this distro

this is the output from the terminal for the ethernet card


v 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI M9+ 5C61 [Radeon Mobility 9200 (AGP)] (rev 01)
02:01.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI7420 CardBus Controller
02:01.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments PCI7x20 1394a-2000 OHCI Two-Port PHY/Link-Layer Controller
02:01.3 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments PCI7420/7620 Combo CardBus, 1394a-2000 OHCI and SD/MS-Pro Controller
02:02.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG [Calexico2] Network Connection (rev 05)
02:04.0 USB controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
02:04.1 USB controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
02:04.2 USB controller: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 (rev 04)
02:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB PRO/100 VE (MOB) Ethernet Controller (rev 83)
frank@debianverizon:~$
Ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. May 2013, 01:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,219
Default

Unless someone else can help here you will need to post this in the Debian forum.

http://forums.debian.net/
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. May 2013, 02:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
Unless someone else can help here you will need to post this in the Debian forum.

http://forums.debian.net/
i will try that thanks but meanwhile i give the specs of my laptop,

i made an iso of mint14 mate KDE and tryied to install on vgn a 195ep
but it won't pass the logo i installed the iso cd on my other pc Lenovo and it installed good so much so i kept it instead of Ubuntu 1204LTS for now.

what other distro you think will install on this machine and will run the wireless easy
i would hate to go back to win xp but if i don't get it running wireless have no other option,specs of Sony vaio bellow thanks.


http://www.cnet.com/laptops/sony-vai...-31107241.html
Ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. May 2013, 04:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,219
Default

512MB is listed as the minimum requirement for Mint 14 and with KDE this would certainly be on the limit, so this probably explains your difficulty.

I would look at a less demanding DE and a distro that packs in quite a bit of extra kit as standard. Voyager Linux comes to mind first.

Google it yourself because the site is in French and we only permit English language links here. You can try the latest 13.04 version first and if that doesn't play ball, also give the 12.04 LTS a try.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.