Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18. Dec 2012, 09:23 PM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Glad it went smoothly for you
I think you chose the best solution under the circumstances.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18. Dec 2012, 09:39 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,275
Default

Yep, it went well thanks to help from you guys. And yes, it was the best solution, with the least headaches, also considering he is going back to his work city soon.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Jan 2013, 08:24 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,275
Default

Just an update on this topic.

A few days after I had performed the re-install of Vista on my brother's laptop, after downloading painstakingly, a lot of drivers from the Dell site for the laptop model, for XP and Vista separately... imagine my state, when my brother found the CDs that came with the laptop, and the Vista OS CD was in there .

Another experience on the same issue.

My cousin has an HP laptop, and it had Vista on it. It was running quite slow, and had got malware infection too. Also, the laptop is old now, and out of warranty. I decided to reinstall OS on it, and decided to go with Windows 7, just as an experiment. I always could go back to Vista, if Windows 7 installation was not successful. I noticed that the option to delete the recovery partition was there, which was a good thing, as the OS itself deleted it. So, I made the recovery CDs, the option for which was provided too. After that, I deleted the recovery partition to gain hard drive space, as the hard drive is of a smaller size, the laptop being old.

Then, I installed Windows 7 on the drive. Before that, I had run the Windows 7 upgrade assistant to make sure the laptop was ready for Windows 7, and it was. Although there were no official drivers for Windows 7 on the HP site for this laptop model, there was no trouble installing the Vista drivers. The installation of Windows 7 was successful, and the responsiveness of the laptop could really be felt. And surprisingly, Windows 7 took really less hard drive space than expected. Also surprisingly, even the driver updates from HP were offered via Windows updates, which was just great! The responsiveness of the laptop could also be attributed to the fact that many programs that were pre-installed on the laptop earlier, were not present there now. Laptop was quick to boot, it felt light in running, and things were fast.

So, the experiment was quite successful, and it has given me confidence to carry out more of such "rescue" work

Thanks again to everyone for their helpful inputs .
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Jan 2013, 11:54 PM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Congrats, another computer rescued from Vista hell!
I guess most PC's capable of running Vista will quite happily accept Windows 7 and benefit from a performance boost in the process.
It's a shame that Windows 7 licences aren't likely to get discounted even though it's been superseded now (technically).
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jan 2013, 01:59 AM   #25 (permalink)
Senior Edtor
 
v.laurie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,380
Default

Anupam. how long did it take for you to install Windows 7? I just installed Windows 7 on a clean system. I used the newest Windows 7 Pro ISO downloaded from Microsoft with SP1 on it and there were still 111 important or critical updates that had to be downloaded and installed afterwards. It went on and on with several reboots necessary. Windows 7 itself went quite quickly and smoothly but all the updates added a lot of time to the installation process.
__________________
Vic
v.laurie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jan 2013, 03:31 AM   #26 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default

I appreciate I'm somewhat "strange" but have always preferred to re-install from scratch instead of using a previously prepared image. All my data is stored externally and I don't have a zillion programs installed so this option just works for me. The W7 install process by default cycles through several boots and always needs a bunch of updates after. On my PC this is quite a quick process but the lesser powered laptop takes for ever.

I'd also add that Linux too is not immune from large updates. Depending on the distro and when you happen to arrive during its life cycle, the updates after install can run into hundreds of MB's.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jan 2013, 11:49 AM   #27 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,275
Default

Thanks Sope

Vic, I don't remember exactly, but I think the installation did not take much time, and was smooth. But yes, after the install, it took time to install the updates. But, I did that in batches later on, and not immediately afterwards.

I generally follow this order.. install OS.. install drivers.. install 7-zip, antivirus, and some other basic programs. Then, I do the customization, settings, desktop, etc. Then, after connecting to the internet, I download the updates.

MC, you should try imaging sometimes. Experiment with it on an extra computer, and a hard drive. It's really easy, and quite useful. You can install the OS, install drivers, download the updates, and make an image till that point. Next time you feel the need to reinstall, just fire up the image you backed up, and you will not need to go through that cycle again. Although, like you, I prefer installing from scratch too, but I had tried imaging sometime earlier, and found it to be quite a convenient option too.

I had to test various driver backup and restore software for my review, and for that, I needed a reinstalled OS from scratch without drivers. Imaging came in very handy for that, because it took only 5 minutes or so, to run the image and get the system back up, like I wanted. Without that, I would have to go through the reinstall process everytime for a run of each software.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jan 2013, 01:37 PM   #28 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
I appreciate I'm somewhat "strange" but have always preferred to re-install from scratch instead of using a previously prepared image.
You have another strange guy here he always prefer to re-install rather than imaging the 'bad' image which won't be as clean as a fresh install. All my important data has an external backup and my apps are all free.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jan 2013, 02:05 PM   #29 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Experiment with it..
Someone once suggested this to me in the 60's although they referring to something that made you see pink elephants climbing up the walls.

My philosophy is if I've never needed it yet, then I don't now.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Jan 2013, 08:05 PM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

I keep backup images of my system in case I need to recover from a catastophic malware infection or hard drive failure. (I have separate partitions for data and OS).
This is only for emergencies though. When I merely feel the need to freshen up my system or upgrade my hard drive (got my eye on a SSD, soon hopefully ) then my preference is for a clean install too.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.