Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > General Computer Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24. Aug 2012, 04:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
emmjay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default DNS Connect verification fails

I followed the instructions to setup DNS Connect on my W7/32 PC.
I rebooted, then went back to the website to use the Test to verify that I am using DNS Connect. It says that I am not using it. I rechecked the setup in the control panel and the addresses are there.
I noticed that on their webpage they indicate that there is a utility that can be downloaded, but I could not find it. Does anybody here who uses DNS Connect had to download a utility?

I use an ISP provided wireless GSM 3 dongle which uses its own DNS addresses. When I open a command prompt and type ipconfig/all, the addresses for DNS are that of the ISP. Does this mean that I can not use DNS Connect (noway, nohow)?
  Reply With Quote
Old 24. Aug 2012, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,367
Default

I have a Sony EricssonMD300 with a Claro chip as backup for when my cable fails. The DNS servers are preset to OpenDNS and I cannot change them.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Aug 2012, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
emmjay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
I have a Sony EricssonMD300 with a Claro chip as backup for when my cable fails. The DNS servers are preset to OpenDNS and I cannot change them.
That sounds like noway, nohow!
The DNS addresses can be 'flushed' from a router using the ipconfig flush command. It did not work on my wireless dongle.

Edit: I just found out that Norton DNS Connect is only for WiFi Networks. I did not see this on the install page. My mistake.

Last edited by emmjay; 24. Aug 2012 at 08:58 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28. Aug 2012, 10:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emmjay View Post
The DNS addresses can be 'flushed' from a router using the ipconfig flush command. It did not work on my wireless dongle.
For the record, the ipconfig flush command flushes "Flushes and resets the contents of the DNS client resolver cache" in Windows and will do nothing with a router nor an adapter board or dongle.

Any device or application using DNS will usually have its own cache: the router has a DNS cache, Windows has a DNS cache, and web browsers each have a DNS cache.
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.