Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Freeware Installation & Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07. Apr 2012, 10:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default disable internet explorer

I followed the instructions from gizmo and it did disable IE but stopped hotmail working I selected auto proxy in hotmail which brought it back but also brought back IE
adr685
adr685 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Apr 2012, 12:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 39
Default Instructions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by adr685 View Post
I followed the instructions from gizmo and it did disable IE but stopped hotmail working I selected auto proxy in hotmail which brought it back but also brought back IE
adr685
Hello, What instructions are you talking about?
West Swan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Apr 2012, 01:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by West Swan View Post
Hello, What instructions are you talking about?
Guess it must be this page:

http://www.techsupportalert.com/how_...t_explorer.htm
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Apr 2012, 01:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default disable internet explorer

thanks for replies yes you are right that is the page the info is from gizmo
adr685 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Apr 2012, 03:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 126
Default

What alt. browser are you using if you've disabled IE?
satrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Apr 2012, 09:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default

I use firefox I am trying to disable IE because it brings op a news page when I boot up This is quite a recent happening I can disable IE but then firefox doesn't work
adr685 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16. Apr 2012, 01:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default disable ie

thanks Xhi for your reply it does not appear in this thread but I printed it out
when I click on the firefox button at top left I get move, size,minimise. maximise and close no option the only option I can find is in tools file which I have already tried
adr685 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17. Apr 2012, 12:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adr685 View Post
I use firefox I am trying to disable IE because it brings op a news page when I boot up This is quite a recent happening I can disable IE but then firefox doesn't work
Rather than trying to disable IE, you should think about solving the problem of opening of a news page, when your PC boots up. It might be because of an infection, or something extra being installed on the computer.

If you have any startup monitor program, like HiJackThis, then check for a startup entry, which is triggering that page to open.

If you want to keep IE disabled, and want to use Firefox, then in Firefox, go to :

Options --> Advanced --> Network

Under Network, go to Connection, and then Settings. By default, it is set to "Use system proxy settings", which it picks up from IE I think. So, change it to "No proxy", which I think for modern networks, should work.

But, there are other complications in disabling IE I suppose, like, Windows Updates may not work, because the network settings are picked up from IE. Don't know what to do with that, if you disable IE.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.