Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Freeware Installation & Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28. Nov 2011, 04:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 29
Default How to remove AVAST

Have MS Office 2003.

Tried trial version of AVAST. Didn't like it.
A) Went to 'add/remove' and deleted.

But each time I power up computer I get a full screen reminder from AVAST-
' Your Trial Version Expired. Renew Trial Version or buy etc. '

B) Went to 'File Search'. Located more AVAST files and tried to delete.

Can't delete files.
Get box for each of following files saying -
Can't Delete / Access Denied - Aavm4h.dll , AVAST.SS, ashAVAST, AVAST4

It's annoying and intrusive like the software its supposed to prevent.

Welcome advise on how to completely clear AVAST.
B Carson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Nov 2011, 05:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,190
Default

Most antivirus programs have self protection to guard against being manipulated by malware. This often affects the normal Windows uninstall process. Some vendors provide a special utility for this purpose which should always be used. Avast! is one of them.

http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/U...-Utility.shtml
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Nov 2011, 06:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Thousand Oaks California
Posts: 14
Default

http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility

This is another link for the avast removal tool
nesrinamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26. Dec 2011, 10:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default

It sounds like part of Avast runs automatically. Hit START, run , and type msconfig. Under startup and services tabs, uncheck anything to do with Avast. Restart and get rid of those files. Might have to go thru registry also and get rid of Avast pieces leftover. Didn't know it was so hard to get rid of Avast, sounds like Norton.
farmerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2011, 01:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

B Carson uninstalling Avast should not be that hard. Seems like Avast is semi uninstalled so if I was you, I would reinstall it and afterward, remove Avast the proper way.

After you reinstall, reboot the computer, after rebooting go to add/remove programs and uninstall Avast. Reboot one more time and then run the Avast uninstall tool linked by nesrinamb. After one more reboot your computer should be fine.

Make sure you get the correct installer from the right place. Also, make sure the setting mentioned by Midnight Cowboy is not enabled. I know Avast has it to protect the antivirus from being disabled by malware. In the past it was not enabled on default but things change, make sure it is not enabled so Avast uninstall properly.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Jan 2012, 09:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danjmilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Steeler Nation Capitol
Posts: 127
Default

Another way to help with uninstalling avast is to open the UI, go to settings, open troubleshooting and uncheck, enable self protection module before proceeding with the uninstall.

Dan
danjmilos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Mar 2012, 03:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Tod
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
Most antivirus programs have self protection to guard against being manipulated by malware. This often affects the normal Windows uninstall process. Some vendors provide a special utility for this purpose which should always be used. Avast! is one of them.

http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/U...-Utility.shtml
Is it not good to use System Restore of Windows7?
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Mar 2012, 05:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Is it not good to use System Restore of Windows7?
I've had very mixed results with system restore on both XP and Windows 7 to the point that I no longer use it. I now test programs in a virtual environment and if I ever hit a significant error with something that's fully installed, I reload Windows.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Mar 2012, 08:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Tod
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
I've had very mixed results with system restore on both XP and Windows 7 to the point that I no longer use it. I now test programs in a virtual environment and if I ever hit a significant error with something that's fully installed, I reload Windows.
Thanks! What do you mean by virtual environment? When I installed ZoneAlarm the other day, my PC was shut down showing this message as follows:

"A program has been detected and widows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.
DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
If this is the first time you've seen this this stop error screen, restart your computer.
.......
Technical information:
***STOP: 0x000000D1 (0x0000000000000008, 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000, 0xFFFFF8801C8F3B72)
*** vsdatant.sys - address FFFFF8801C8F3B72 base at FFFFF8801C8DD000, Datestamp 4dc387a2"

Since it was my first time to see the error screen, I restarted the PC and uninstalled the Zonealarm. Then I restored the system files using System Restore. Do you have any idea if it was enough? Or do you think I better use some uninstall tool for zonealarm even now? I worry whether the installation of zonealarm changed settings of the other firewall on my PC. (Currently I have been using a commercial FW on this PC.)
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Mar 2012, 10:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 15,190
Default

I use the free version of a program called Returnil System Safe 2011 to check out most of my Windows programs before I let them loose in the real system.

http://www.returnilvirtualsystem.com...il-system-safe

If you already had a third party installed firewall and then added ZoneAlarm this is most likely what has caused the driver conflict, although from recent posts, ZoneAlarm seems to be managing this on its own You should never install two firewalls in the same system, even if one is disabled because there will be inevitable conflicts. As to how effective your system restore might have been is impossible to say and depends too on what general state your PC was in before all this happened.

There are those here more technically adept than me who might be able to offer you some more constructive advice.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.