Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Freeware Installation & Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03. Oct 2011, 03:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
emmjay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default CCleaner slow installation

I downloaded V3.11 CCleaner today. The download was fast, but the installation took over 30 minutes. It consumes 60% plus CPU as well. It seems to get bogged down with the Extract: lang-xxxx.dll files. Has anyone else experienced this? I use the default language (English) in the setup.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03. Oct 2011, 06:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

30 minutes? ... that's a lot. Something is definitely wrong somewhere. I experienced no such problem while installing the latest version. Which version did you download, the slim version, or the regular version?

The slim version is the one without the toolbar... although that toolbar can be deselected in the normal version too.

But, I have observed that even with slim version, the installation stalls for just a few seconds... to which my guess is that it tries to contact home or somewhere. Maybe that is conflicting at your end with something.. but definitely something is wrong.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Oct 2011, 05:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
emmjay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
30 minutes? ... that's a lot. Something is definitely wrong somewhere. I experienced no such problem while installing the latest version. Which version did you download, the slim version, or the regular version?

The slim version is the one without the toolbar... although that toolbar can be deselected in the normal version too.

But, I have observed that even with slim version, the installation stalls for just a few seconds... to which my guess is that it tries to contact home or somewhere. Maybe that is conflicting at your end with something.. but definitely something is wrong.
Hi Anupam, I agree that there is something wrong somewhere, but I do not know what it is. I was presented with a 'new version is available, popup' which sent me to a selection screen on their website. I selected the free version, and deselected the ASK toolbar for the installation. It was the installation of the language.dlls that took all the time. In fact it was close to 50 minutes for it to install. I have a dual core laptop so I was really surprised at this and even more surprised at the 60%plus CPU that the install consumed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05. Oct 2011, 09:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

Well emmjay, it shouldn't have taken so long... and I feel that you should have cancelled it, once it ran longer than 5 minutes. My suggestion would be to uninstall CCleaner, download the slim version, which is without a toolbar, and try installing again.

If you have any software that might be interfering with the installation, like HIPS, firewall etc, do check.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Oct 2011, 12:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,270
Default

There is a new version of CCleaner available .. version 3.11.1550. Try that. But, the slim version is not available yet. Will be available in a few days.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Oct 2011, 06:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
emmjay
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
There is a new version of CCleaner available .. version 3.11.1550. Try that. But, the slim version is not available yet. Will be available in a few days.
Tnx, I will wait for the slim version and give it a try.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05. Oct 2011, 06:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
4goTTen21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Rafael, Argentina
Posts: 400
Default

Agree with Anupam. It could be a corrupted download. If this happens again, check your pc in the search of virus with online AV, manually clean temporary folder and try reinstalling. Make sure you have no problem with any others installations to discard windows installer problems. Also close previous ccleaner version before installing new one. Uninstall if necessary. Indicate you OS please. Maybe yoy have to run as admin.
4goTTen21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Oct 2011, 07:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

These days I don't bother to wait for the slim installer to become available, I just download the portable version and replace the relevant files manually. No chance of installation problems that way....that is unless I mess up of course
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Oct 2011, 03:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

emmjay, definitively something went wrong on your installation. I always do over the top installs for CCleaner and it takes only a few seconds.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Oct 2011, 06:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 445
Default

Hi guys,

I'm with Sope on this.
__________________
26Dolphins
26Dolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.