Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Freeware Installation & Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05. Dec 2010, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Question Conversion Trouble with Format Factory

I have a Canon DC210 Camcorder that uses the mini DVD disks. I use DVD-RW and I initalize it on video. I then take the disk and insert it into my computer and I save the video to my computer.

When I open up Format Factory to change the video from .VOB to a .WMV, it does it just fine. But when I put the new converted video into Windows Movie Maker to edit it, the video plays for a few seconds and then freezes but the audio keeps playing. I am using Vista. I use to work on XP and windows Movie maker never gave me a problem. Is it WMM or is it my disk and camcorder or is it Format Factory? Also if I just drag in my VOB files to convert...when they show in my output foler the only show a little strip of the movie...not the whole picture. I would appreciate any help you may be able to give me, I really want to make this video of my dad. Thanks again.
rbbirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2010, 09:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ritho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 1,379
Default

If you find that Format Factory is having a problem, a lesser known feature of VLC Player is its ability to convert Video from one format to another. You might want to try it. Just do a search with the terms "Convert Video with VLC" and you should be able to find the information you need.
__________________
The smallest good deed is better than the greatest intention.
Ritho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2010, 05:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
crank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Texas aka Hell
Posts: 160
Default

I haven't used ff all that much, but it has never failed me. Video/audio formats and their codecs, containers, etc are not my strong suit, but it appears you are lacking the right codec for the file you are trying to convert, either the 'from' or 'to' format codec. And it must be the video codec as the audio is playing fine. The '.VOB' and other extensions do not necessarily specify the codec within that container. It's a very confusing area, what I always do is download every codec available for any piece of software and cross my fingers.

Not much help, but I thought I would chime in, good luck.
__________________
you must be joking, oh man you must be joking
crank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Dec 2010, 06:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

You could maybe try converting to AVI and then importing that into Windows Movie Maker for editing.

You may also have some codec issues in which case you could try installing a universal codec package. Messing with codecs can be a bit of a minefield to say the least. If you want to go down this route I would recommend Shark007 which I've found very good for Windows 7. The subject of codecs can prove complex but the support info provided on the site is very helpful.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Dec 2010, 09:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
rm_rib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 27
Default

Hi,
do you have Nero on your computer?

If so - and even if not - you could open Tools in MM6 (Vista) and "play" with the ax-files here.
For instance Nero is aggressively putting its ax-files (codecs) here without asking, and so do other applications.

In my case I was experiencing "mysterious" crashes of MM6 and after unticking all ax-es from Nero, Cyberlink, Honestech and ffdshow - the problem disappeared. (The unticking only affects MM6). I also renamed ..Common Files\Ahead\DSFilter to DSFilter_ - just to make sure Nero wouldn't alter my changes back again - you never know with Nero. This was 8 months ago - and it still works.

Side effect: instead of using Nero, which is now crippled, I started using ImgBurn - and it's far much better.

Of course I don't know if this could help you, but it might be worth a try - you can always retick some ax-es back again if you want to.

Best of luck!
rm_rib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07. Dec 2010, 10:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
rm_rib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 27
Default

Continuation:

I have just tried to rename the Nero-dictionary named above - from DSFilter_ back to DSFilter.
This makes MM6 crash!
So I changed it back again to DSFilter_ , cleaned the Registry - and MM6 works ok again.

Just thought I should report this.
rm_rib is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.