Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Freeware Installation & Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23. Dec 2016, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,077
Default LibreOffice upgrading has become a pain

Every time i want to upgrade LibreOffice, i must download from a website.
Then, during the installation process, it requires that we close Windows Search, Windows Explorer, Word and who knows what else. All of which requires a hard reboot 'cause i don't know how to restart Windows Explorer in any other way.

Can't recall if original installation requires same but it wouldn't surprise me if it does.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27. Dec 2016, 10:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
L.M
Senior Member
 
L.M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielson View Post
Every time i want to upgrade LibreOffice, i must download from a website.
Then, during the installation process, it requires that we close Windows Search, Windows Explorer, Word and who knows what else. All of which requires a hard reboot 'cause i don't know how to restart Windows Explorer in any other way.

Can't recall if original installation requires same but it wouldn't surprise me if it does.
I use www.ninite.com to update LibreOffice and many of my apps.
But theirs installer may not be your cup of tea neither...
L.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2016, 03:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,077
Default

You got it LM.
It's an interesting app but not my cup of tea.

For the fun of it.
Installed Apache Office via PortableApp and there were no requests to close Windows Explorer etc. during the installation process and i'm sure there never will be any in the future.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2016, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielson View Post
Every time i want to upgrade LibreOffice, i must download from a website.
Then, during the installation process, it requires that we close Windows Search, Windows Explorer, Word and who knows what else. All of which requires a hard reboot 'cause i don't know how to restart Windows Explorer in any other way.

Can't recall if original installation requires same but it wouldn't surprise me if it does.
In my experience I can't remember ever encountering the issues you describe when updating LibreOffice on my system. Yes, you have to manually download the installers, and they do take some time to install, but other than those minor irritations my upgrades don't require any sort of restart.
I don't use the quick starter option so maybe that has some bearing on it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielson View Post
For the fun of it.
Installed Apache Office via PortableApp and there were no requests to close Windows Explorer etc. during the installation process and i'm sure there never will be any in the future.
Of course if you "install" a portable version of any software it shouldn't ever require a restart!
I did use the portableapps version of LibreOffice for a while but I find for this type of software, if used regularly it's more convenient to have it installed.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2016, 01:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
EldonW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Posts: 272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielson View Post
Then, during the installation process, it requires that we close Windows Search, Windows Explorer, Word and who knows what else. All of which requires a hard reboot 'cause i don't know how to restart Windows Explorer in any other way.
Could you provide more info regarding the above?
When you install any software, all programs should be closed. It's called 'good practise'.
As for closing Windows Explorer, I have never heard of that - I have installed 3,500 programs during the past 12 years.
EldonW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2016, 02:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 547
Default

Even a restart seldom actually requires a reboot. Just closing and re-opening Windows or often even just a relogon of the user is enough.
Burn-IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Dec 2016, 03:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,077
Default

@EldonW - it's the first time i've seen a program do that.

LibreOffice is already installed;
It's little icon on the top right corner notifies of update.
Must download from their website.
During upgrading process it stops from going any further until i close Windows Explorer (and even Word in one instance which was open) all of which obliges me to restart the PC.

Nope... never seen anything like this.
Some have asked their installed app to be removed beforehand but never to close Windows Explorer. Virus situation?
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Dec 2016, 11:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

I can imagine that LibreOffice requires a restart to complete installation fully for all features to work 100%. This is required for many programs.
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31. Dec 2016, 11:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
danielson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,077
Default

A restart i can deal with but to close Windows Explorer, Word and whatever else it might dictate in order to update is something i've never seen before.

One thing for sure, whenever the next update comes about, i'm putting as screenshot here as proof.
danielson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Jan 2017, 03:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielson View Post
One thing for sure, whenever the next update comes about, i'm putting as screenshot here as proof.
Definitely
__________________
Better to light a candle ... than to curse the darkness.
Remah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.