Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Freeware Installation & Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12. Feb 2013, 07:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default Scan a sandboxed file with an AV?

I have Sandboxie installed and I've downloaded a software program while in the sandbox. My question is: How do you scan a file or folder that's in the sandbox? ...or is this possible at all?

In my case, I have MSE and MBAM, and right-clicking on the sandboxed file or folder doesn't present the option to "Scan with MSE" or "Scan with MBAM". When outside the sandbox, right-clicking on a file or folder always present those options. What am I missing?
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Feb 2013, 11:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

What is the exact location of the file you are right-clicking?
How are you navigating to it?.

I have Avast and Hitman Pro installed and can select both from the context menu in Windows Explorer, either by going to C:/Sandbox or by using the option to explore the sandbox from the Sandboxie system tray icon.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2013, 02:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe A.TT View Post
I have Sandboxie installed and I've downloaded a software program while in the sandbox. My question is: How do you scan a file or folder that's in the sandbox? ...or is this possible at all?

In my case, I have MSE and MBAM, and right-clicking on the sandboxed file or folder doesn't present the option to "Scan with MSE" or "Scan with MBAM". When outside the sandbox, right-clicking on a file or folder always present those options. What am I missing?
Hi Joe, in my opinion you don't need to scan files with MSE since MSE scans files as they are created in your hard drive.

I dont have any scanner or AV installed in my computers but I just installed MBAM and MSE under my Light virtualization program to see what happens. Using MBAM, I was able to right click on a download in the sandbox folder and run a scan as it should be. Same with MSE.

Perhaps you need to go to MBAM settings>General settings and tick "Create right click scan". I didn't see any special setting for the Windows Explorer right click scan in MSE.

I tried this in W7 32bits, if you are in XP, I can try later. Let me know. Anyway, the sandboxie folder in C drive is not special, it is as any other folder in your computer and programs like antiviruses have access to it. You should be able to right click on files and run a scan.

MSE works great with SBIE, it is the antivirus that I recommend to be used with SBIE and you shouldn't be having this situation.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2013, 03:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

@ Sope,

Thanks for your quick reply.

I'd downloaded a program with Opera in a sandbox. The download was a zipped file which went into Opera's downloads folder. After I unzipped the file and clicked on the .exe file, it installed in C:\program files (x86) by default. All of this was in a sandbox.

As to the navigation part, I think that's where I may have gone wrong. I launched the downloaded program in the sandbox, then used it's own File>Open menu to navigate to it's folder and files. I then I right clicked on it. That's when I realized that I didn't have the options to scan with either MSE or MBAM.

You may ask why if I was using Sandboxie, I didn't know how to do this. The answer is although I've read about other users testing programs in a sandbox, I'd never really done so myself until today. Up to today, I've only ever used Sandboxie with my browser to surf the Internet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sope View Post
...either by going to C:/Sandbox or by using the option to explore the sandbox from the Sandboxie system tray icon.
Ahh, I see. If I may paraphrase, you are saying to either:

1. Use Windows Explorer to navigate to C:\Sandbox, etc., and there I should see a sandboxed duplicate of my directory. Navigating from there I should get to the desired folder or file, where I can right-click it and get the option to scan it, or

2. Just use the Explore Contents selection from the Sandboxie icon in the System Tray to navigate to the desired folder or file. Right click the folder or file and I should have to option to scan it.

Unfortunately, I've already deleted the contents of the sandbox, so I will have to go through the process again when I have more time, to see how it works.

I think where I have a bit of a gap in my knowledge as a newbie, is understanding and navigating the directories in Windows. Years ago in the days of DOS when I had my first brief touch with computers, I remember there was a program called Xtree Pro and Xtree Gold. It's purpose was to show the directory in a tree-like structure and made it easy for a user to navigate it. Nowadays, even with Win 7's GUI, it doesn't seem to provide the uninitiated with much help in understanding how the directory is structured. I think one of the reasons some users like XP is that it's GUI makes the directory more understandable.

@ Bo,

Thanks for your interest too, and thanks for taking the time to do some testing for me. Just for the record, I'm on Win 7 x64. I think that I've explained above where my mix-up was.

Maybe both Sope and yourself could correct me if my interpretation is incorrect?
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2013, 05:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe A.TT View Post
@ Sope,
1. Use Windows Explorer to navigate to C:\Sandbox, etc., and there I should see a sandboxed duplicate of my directory. Navigating from there I should get to the desired folder or file, where I can right-click it and get the option to scan it, or
Thats the right way to do it.

________________________

If you like to test a program in a sandbox. Right click on the installer and choose to run it sandboxed. You can create a separate sandbox and use it for that program. If you like to keep the program for a while, you can set the sandbox not to be deleted on closing. In very few words, thats how you test programs in a sandbox. Try something simple first, like a browser.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2013, 05:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Been Here Since the Begin
 
kendall.a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,324
Default

Quote:
If you like to test a program in a sandbox. Right click on the installer and choose to run it sandboxed. You can create a separate sandbox and use it for that program. If you like to keep the program for a while, you can set the sandbox not to be deleted on closing. In very few words, thats how you test programs in a sandbox. Try something simple first, like a browser.
Bo, your timing is impeccable! I just downloaded a card game (solitaire) that is too big to be scanned by VirusTotal or Jotti. I think it's safe, but I'm not sure. So, I've been thinking that I should install it Sandboxed. I understand that I just right-click and open it (install it) in a Sandbox. But, I don't quite know what to do once I've done that initial install? Can you give a little more detail on how to do this?
__________________
<-------Just jammin to some music....
kendall.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2013, 06:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendall.a View Post
I understand that I just right-click and open it (install it) in a Sandbox. But, I don't quite know what to do once I've done that initial install? Can you give a little more detail on how to do this?
I was trying to make it short, this are the details that were left out.

Make sure you set the sandbox not to delete on closing if you like to keep the program, to do so, go to:Sandbox settings>Delete>Delete Invocation and tick "Never remove this sandbox or delete its contents".

Most programs will install sandboxed but not all. Leave settings on default.

After installing the program, you have different forms of how to open it. An easy way: Go to the Sandboxie folder in Start menu and click on "sandboxie start menu", choose the sandbox where you installed the program, find the program in "Programs" and click on it to open it.

You can also make a sandboxed shortcut for the program and place it in the taskbar or desktop by going to: Configure>Windows shell integration>Add shortcut icons, choose the sandbox where you installed the program , find the program you are testing in "Programs" and click on it. Once you do that, you will have a shortcut for the program in your desktop.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2013, 12:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe A.TT View Post
Ahh, I see. If I may paraphrase, you are saying to either:

1. Use Windows Explorer to navigate to C:\Sandbox, etc., and there I should see a sandboxed duplicate of my directory. Navigating from there I should get to the desired folder or file, where I can right-click it and get the option to scan it, or

2. Just use the Explore Contents selection from the Sandboxie icon in the System Tray to navigate to the desired folder or file. Right click the folder or file and I should have to option to scan it.
Yup, that's correct

Usually when I install software in a sandbox for testing I use option 2.
From there you can scan the contents for malware and/or remove files manually if required.

Very useful for finding out what files get installed, and in what location, and also what gets left behind after an uninstall.

Can also be useful with some software that comes with an installer but, once installed, the files can be manually removed from the install directory and used portably.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13. Feb 2013, 02:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

@ Sope & Bo,

Thank you both for clearing matters up for me, and all the other extra details about using Sandboxie. I'll give it a try when I have some time.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15. Feb 2013, 12:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,028
Default

Okay, I just want to report back that I've tried navigating to the sandboxed folders/files as suggested, and both ways work - thanks again . Now to get used to testing programs, etc. in a sandbox, lol.
Joe A.TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.