Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Freeware Installation & Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07. Jun 2009, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,948
Default Total Mounter

From the comments on the article Best Free CD / DVD Emulation Software, Total Mounter has been mentioned.

It is a virtual CD/DVD burner and a freeware alternative to some commercial programs. I've tried Total Mounter and somehow experienced system crashes on two separate PCs, one running on XP and the other Vista. I've written to the developer and understand from them that they will carry out more detailed tests, and solve these problems as soon as possible on my case.

At the meantime, I'd appreciate your feedback here about your experience in using the program before I consider to include this freeware in the article.

Last edited by Jojoyee; 07. Jun 2009 at 03:16 PM.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Jun 2009, 02:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 27
Default

Hello Jojoyee,

Thanks for the wonderful find. As you may have seen from the Best Free CD/DVD Emulator, I was pursuing a free alternative to Virtual CD and Phantom Burner. I installed the Total Mounter version 1.31 on Vista Home Premium SP2. The installation was OK. But when I follow the invocation Mount->Virtual CD/DVD-RW, I can create an ISO file but it assigns no letter or a virtual DVD-Writer. When I try to create another one over it I get an error message in the status bar: 'Can not mount this image! c0000043'

In other words, I could not succeed to have a virtual DVD-RW drive. Do you have any idea? Its web site does not give much idea.

Regards,
ekadim
ekadim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08. Jun 2009, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,948
Default

@ekadim

Thanks for the feedback. This further affirms the problem exists. Neither could I get it work. Once I've any clue from the developer, I'll post it here. Probably this might take some time but it depends how fast they can fix it.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09. Jun 2009, 09:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 27
Default

Hello Jojoyee!

Today I noticed that there is a new version of the Total Mounter (v. 1.32) I downloaded it without a problem. When I tried to install it, it first tried to uninstall the previous version. But uninstallation hanged after some time. I tried Revo Uninstaller but to no avail. Could you try to install the new version as well?

Thanks.
ekadim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Jun 2009, 08:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,948
Default

Thanks for the info. Downloaded v1.32 but experienced an installation error.

I've highlighted this and given this thread link to the developer.

Hope that we can have some good news from them later.

Last edited by Jojoyee; 10. Jun 2009 at 08:13 AM.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10. Jun 2009, 02:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 27
Default

Thank you for the info and forwarding this thread link to the developer. Yesterday, after the post, I managed to uninstall the old version. Then I made cleaning registry regarding all the scsi drives the Total Mounter created. Later I made a fresh installation with the latest release but I got Code 10 driver error in the device manager for the SCSI CDROM driver Total Mounter created. I made some screenshots and sent it to the developer together with some description.

I have an XP machine too, I will try to install on it, too. I will write about my observations about it.

And yes, hope that the developer will release a new version soon.
ekadim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Jun 2009, 07:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 27
Default

I installed the Total Mounter on XP Pro SP3 and it worked up to some extent. It created a new drive on my machine and the recording applications saw the drive as a DVD-RW drive. However when I wanted to burn something, they kept saying insert a media to the drive, although I mounted the drive to a 4.5GB iso file.

As a result I can say that the Total Mounter is not very compliant with Vista. If I have time, I will test it with Windows 7, too.
ekadim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Jun 2009, 09:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,948
Default Nearly there

I've installed it successfully (on XP) following the steps advised by the developer.

Mount a virtual blank CD/DVD disk, go to Windows Media Player, select an mp3 file, click burn, and it burns successfully! (told by the player, it can't be wrong, this is tested on a PC without a physical burner).

But when click play -> DVD/VCD/CD Drive, the Media Player says 'No Disc in Drive' even though after mounting.

Highlighed this to the developer. We're getting closer to the solution.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11. Jun 2009, 02:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,336
Default

I installed TotalMounter on my system today. My OS is Win XP SP2. It installed without any problem. It created a virtual drive too.

I have CDBurnerXP as my burner software. It recognised TotalMounter as a drive.

I started TotalMounter. Clicked on Mount -> Virtual CD/DVD-RW. Gave a name to the ISO. Then again selected Mount -> Virtual CD/DVD-RW, and selected the ISO that I had made earlier. Then an entry appeared lbelow as DVDRW. Then went to the burner software, and selected TotalMounter as the drive. But the burn process failed with this error:
"An error occured while burning the disc. Most likely the disc is not usable. Usually these errors happen if the inserted media is not compatible to the drive or of poor quality.

(devInvalidCommandOpCode) Error sending session CueSheet(SAO). Invalid command operation code. - 0x052000."

Now I dont know what that means.

No help is provided on how to use the software. All this I got to know by trial and error. Somehow made it to burn the data, but the burn process is failing. Any ideas?
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12. Jun 2009, 07:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 27
Default

Hello Anupam,

I have missed your precious comments in gizmo for a long time. Good to have you back here. Or maybe I was not aware that you were around!

Thank you for sharing your experience. It would be good if you also forward the experience you had to the support@kernsafe.com

I received a kind response from their support team that they reproduced the error I reported and they say they will release a fix soon. They really deserve appreciation for their good work and prompt response.
ekadim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.