Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Site Forums > Fix Me

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28. Nov 2009, 08:51 PM   #31 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
After this step, what you can do is... scroll down the main forum page to the bottom. There, under the "What's Going On?" block, you will see "Visitors in the last 24 hours" link. Click that, and it will present you with a login page, with a "Remember Me" checkbox. Click the checkbox, and use that page to login, and I think you should be able to login without any problems.
Well that worked and is quicker than going in a deleting cookies
Mind you, I did log out last night.

What we need now is to be able to get to that login page in a less obscure way (I'm thinking of others who won't know about this). When this problem first started occurring for me I went through everwhere trying to find a login page like that. I think I found a link to a login page in the FAQs but it took me back to the techsupportalert index. If I remember correctly that was why I got in touch with Chris, through a contact link I found somewhere as I had no way to post it here to get some help. Maybe a link added to the top of the forum??? Just a thought, not trying to tell you what to do
miskairal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28. Nov 2009, 09:03 PM   #32 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

I have to agree that if there is a log-in box presented on the main forum page it should be one that functions properly.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Nov 2009, 11:56 AM   #33 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flatlands View Post
Problem as I see it, if the FORUM PAGE present a log on box, it should work from there, A person shouldn't have to jump thru hoops like a trained circus lion just to get logged in.
Flatlands, you haven't yet posted the steps that you take to login. Without the details, we cannot help you. Rather than posting such things as above, which are of no help at all, we would appreciate if you can post something which would help us.

We have already posted innumerable number of times why the login procedure is so typical. We are sorry, that the users have to go through troubles to login, but given the situation, we have done the best to manage it.

So, please... post something meaningful and helpful. You haven't answered the questions I put up for you. You haven't written down the steps yet. Did you try the method I posted earlier for miskairal? Without these, we wouldn't be offer any help... sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flatlands View Post
This forum is always unstable for some reason
The forum is NOT unstable... only the login procedure is a bit quirky. If you find any problem with the forum, other than the login procedure, please bring it to our notice.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Nov 2009, 12:03 PM   #34 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miskairal View Post
Well that worked and is quicker than going in a deleting cookies
Mind you, I did log out last night.

What we need now is to be able to get to that login page in a less obscure way (I'm thinking of others who won't know about this). When this problem first started occurring for me I went through everwhere trying to find a login page like that. I think I found a link to a login page in the FAQs but it took me back to the techsupportalert index. If I remember correctly that was why I got in touch with Chris, through a contact link I found somewhere as I had no way to post it here to get some help. Maybe a link added to the top of the forum??? Just a thought, not trying to tell you what to do
Glad that it worked for you miskairal. I think that should make the login procedure a bit easy. And I am glad to hear you did log out last night .

Thanks for your suggestion too. That's a good suggestion. We will work on it. Suggestions are always welcome .

That is also a good question that why does the login on the main page of forum work. I had also tried that earlier, when I used to login to the forum when it was new. It did not work, so I had to find other methods.
I will ask this question with the concerned people, and get the answer from them. Its true, that if login is there on the main page, then it should work. There must be some reason why it does not.

We are thinking of putting up a sticky thread, to write down proper steps to login to the forum, and what to do in case of problems. Lets see.

About having a link to a proper login page that would work, we have started working on that too. Please give us some time to see, if we can do something about that.

Meanwhile, please use the method which worked for you.

Thanks for posting.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29. Nov 2009, 05:50 PM   #35 (permalink)
Flatlands
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
Flatlands, you haven't yet posted the steps that you take to login. Without the details, we cannot help you. Rather than posting such things as above, which are of no help at all, we would appreciate if you can post something which would help us.

We have already posted innumerable number of times why the login procedure is so typical. We are sorry, that the users have to go through troubles to login, but given the situation, we have done the best to manage it.

So, please... post something meaningful and helpful. You haven't answered the questions I put up for you. You haven't written down the steps yet. Did you try the method I posted earlier for miskairal? Without these, we wouldn't be offer any help... sorry.



The forum is NOT unstable... only the login procedure is a bit quirky. If you find any problem with the forum, other than the login procedure, please bring it to our notice.
http://www.techsupportalert.com/freeware-forum/
At the TOP of this page is a set of boxes to log in and input password, ' THEY DON'T WORK" most of the time, period. This is where the jumping thru hoops starts. I'm sorry if you can't understand English but from there it takws you to Gizmo's main page and claims I'm logged in, YET the forum doesn't see it that way. Now to LOG IN to the forum I have to try to reply to any post and it then presents me with a new set of log on boxes. Filling these out now lets me in. Hoop jumping completed.
This happens always in OPERA, sometimes in Chrome and IE 8. Both from my XP Pro SP3 and my Windows 7 laptop. The problem is NOT mine but some quirk in you forum software
  Reply With Quote
Old 29. Nov 2009, 06:25 PM   #36 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 1,174
Default

Here's what works for me (regardless of browser)

1) Go to http://www.techsupportalert.com/
2) Log out using the link in the 3rd box down on the left
3) Log back in using the appropriate boxes
4) Now click on "Freeware Forum" tab at top of page

I don't log out routinely from the site, I just close the tab when I want to leave, this way I usually stay logged in for a varying number of days, presumably until the relevant cookie expires.
On rare occasions I may have to clear cookies before following this procedure in order to make it stick.
Sope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2009, 08:44 AM   #37 (permalink)
Maestro di Search
 
Jojo Yee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,845
Default Just log-in one more time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sope View Post
Here's what works for me (regardless of browser)

1) Go to http://www.techsupportalert.com/
2) Log out using the link in the 3rd box down on the left
3) Log back in using the appropriate boxes
4) Now click on "Freeware Forum" tab at top of page
The above way is "Log-out in order to log-in". Another way that works for me is "Just log-in one more time" (regardless of browsers).
  1. At the Forum, click log-in at the top-right of the page (after clearing cookies if needed). You can then be logged-in sometimes. IF NOT, continue with Step 2.
  2. Click log-in again at the "User account" page when prompted (see below). You will then be logged-in to the Forum page.


Before logging in, check also username and password are entered correctly. In either way, it is due to the Forum and the main site that are running on separate engines. I understand that things might change and get improved as we move forward.

Last edited by Jojoyee; 30. Nov 2009 at 09:45 AM.
Jojo Yee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2009, 11:11 AM   #38 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flatlands View Post
http://www.techsupportalert.com/freeware-forum/
At the TOP of this page is a set of boxes to log in and input password, ' THEY DON'T WORK" most of the time, period. This is where the jumping thru hoops starts. I'm sorry if you can't understand English but from there it takws you to Gizmo's main page and claims I'm logged in, YET the forum doesn't see it that way. Now to LOG IN to the forum I have to try to reply to any post and it then presents me with a new set of log on boxes. Filling these out now lets me in. Hoop jumping completed.
This happens always in OPERA, sometimes in Chrome and IE 8. Both from my XP Pro SP3 and my Windows 7 laptop. The problem is NOT mine but some quirk in you forum software
Flatlands, we have been making posts to help you out with this login problem. We are treating you with respect, and we expect the same. But, the way you are making the posts does not show respect.

miskairal and Sope are also having problems with the login, but they have not made posts like you have, with such a language. Their posts have been respectful, and helpful.

I do understand English... thank you. I had asked about the proper steps you are taking to log in to the forum, and you have now done that after asking two times. We are not blaming you for the problem, and we have already accepted that yes, this is a quirk because of the difference in softwares of main site, and forum.

Anyways, thanks for posting the steps.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Nov 2009, 11:26 AM   #39 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 15,329
Default Suggested steps to login without problem

I am now writing down the steps to take, to login on to the forum, without much problem. I use these steps myself, and I have used these to login on Opera and other browsers too, without any problem. For me, its foolproof to login this way. So, please try these, and see if it eases the login procedure for you.


1) Please login from the main TSA site first :
www.techsupportalert.com

2) After logging in, click on the "Freeware Forum" link, to move over to the forum.

3) If it shows you logged in, then no problem... you can browse the forum as usual.

4) If it does not show you as logged in, then scroll down on the main forum page to the bottom. There under the "What's Going on?" block... there is a link "Visitors in the last 24 hours". Its URL is :

http://www.techsupportalert.com/free...rum/online.php

Click the link.

5) You will be presented with a proper login page, with a "Remember Me" checkbox. Click the checkbox, and login to the forum with your username and password. You will now be logged on to the forum.


When you login to the main site, and you move over to the forum, and it shows as logged in... it might happen that after a while, you will be logged out automatically. This is because of a security feature on the forum. So, if that happens, then go to Step no. 4, and login as described. You will then again be logged on the forum, and will not be logged out unless you log out yourself.

So, whoever is having a login problem, please follow these steps. If you have any problem while using the above steps, please post.
__________________
Anupam
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01. Dec 2009, 07:39 AM   #40 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 129
Default

Logging out seems to save me having to clear the cookies Anupam
Next time I'll try logging back in on the forum index page and see if it works.

Flatlands they are working on it. This is a free site so I assume no one gets paid to fix anything and that it's all done voluntarily. Be nice, it gets you further in life
miskairal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.