Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Site Forums > Fix Me

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20. Jul 2017, 12:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,713
Default Schannel Event 36887

Hi, this post is just to inform you that visiting the forum with IE9 in my W7 produces Schannel Event 36887errors in Windows Event log. The error is not triggered visiting the site with Firefox in W7. Or in my W10, visiting the site with Firefox or IE 11.

HTH

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20. Jul 2017, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Full Member
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 82
Default

Hi Bo.

The Alert Code is the most useful part of an Schannel Event: https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/kau...e-alert-codes/

It might be triggered by something as simple as trying to connect using an http bookmark, or perhaps a missing IE update or misconfigured Internet Options.
satrow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jul 2017, 03:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by satrow View Post
It might be triggered by something as simple as trying to connect using an http bookmark.......
Hi Satrow, when I read your post, I thought that perhaps you are right, and my old http bookmark triggered the error. I started my W7 a little while ago and replaced the old bookmark to https but before doing it, I opened the site with the old bookmark and I did not get the error. So, the bookmark probably had nothing to do with the error and Gizmo fixed whatever caused the error, they just didn't say nothing about it here. Next time I notice something not working properly in the site, I am not giving any feedback.

Greetings, Satrow

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jul 2017, 07:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 14,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bo.elam View Post
Next time I notice something not working properly in the site, I am not giving any feedback.
With the admin and technical team spread out all over the planet in different time zones it is often not possible to get an immediate response, especially with technical issues which can be time consuming to track down. In this particular case nothing was done to the best of my knowledge because there was not enough time to do so, so if the issue is now resolved it would suggest a local cause rather than something connected with the site.
__________________
Buy a Hoover and prove technology sucks.
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jul 2017, 06:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightCowboy View Post
.....so if the issue is now resolved it would suggest a local cause rather than something connected with the site.
I doubt it as the error was generated ONLY when visiting this site. No other site produced the error. After seeing the error in Events log it was easy for me to know where it came from as I opened Events log minutes after the error was generated. I didst know the error was going to be there but it was there. It was also easy to figure out that the error came from here as I am not an IE user but was testing the browser by opening a few sites after updating the computer.

At the time, I had not started my W7 in a few days and was doing maintenance. Part of my maintenance is checking functionality of the browsers, other programs, etc. And looking in Events log? thats part of my daily routine. If I had detected the error 20 days after it happened, you cant tell where it came from, you cant even guess about it.

But when you detect it 1 minute after it happened, its easy to reproduce and that what I did.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jul 2017, 08:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Full Member
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 82
Default

"doing maintenance" makes me think that some file(s) was in a transitional state, needing a restart or reboot to bring everything back into a synched and updated state.
satrow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jul 2017, 09:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by satrow View Post
"doing maintenance" makes me think that some file(s) was in a transitional state, needing a restart or reboot to bring everything back into a synched and updated state.
Hi satrow, maintenance means doing Windows updates, and making sure all is well afterward. I am not using my W7 every day, since I bought a new computer with W10 two weeks ago but I start it at least once every few days. I never have problems in my computers and this error is nothing to me, if you Google it, after a few minutes you come to the conclusion that it is generated by a site you visited and nothing else.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21. Jul 2017, 11:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Full Member
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 82
Default

I rarely Google as I prefer the neutrality and accuracy of other search engines.

Windows Updates can also include changes to Trusted Certificates, etc., there's been at least one such update this year.

My preferred browser's Advanced settings allows me easy access to change the protocols/ciphers that it will accept, any Schannel errors logged whilst running a browser in such a temporarily out of spec. configuration would not be down to any server fault.

I've dealt with Schannel errors from time to time over the last ~12 years, many have been down to 3rd party security software interference and I have a recollection that some graphics driver versions (maybe the bloatware often included) have also triggered these errors.

Bye.
satrow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22. Jul 2017, 12:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by satrow View Post
I rarely Google as I prefer the neutrality and accuracy of other search engines.
What you say above is bias, in my opinion. What you find using one search engine, its also found by others. I don't use Chrome, never have, but prefer to use their search. Thats what I call balance.

Read this thread from sevenforum. I experienced the error One day only and in my W7. Seven forum is the forum about W7.

Quote:"The Schannel errors I get too, but only on some HTTPS sites using Internet Explorer. I've confirmed it with other people using the same sites and they also get these errors when using IE. So I use Firefox mostly now".

And:

Quote:"On the second error, I will start to keep my own log to see if the error is associated with any particular web sites. And I've been intending to set up Firefox -- will look into it further.)".
https://www.sevenforums.com/general-...lp-please.html

I was giving feedback trying to help, what bothers me is not being acknowledge. No courtesy.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30. Jul 2017, 06:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Progradminstrateditor
 
George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Frankfurt, GER
Posts: 2,248
Default

Hi Bo,

I am sorry for the inconvenience you are having with IE9. I remember when we updated our content management platform a while back we had quiet a few incompatibilities and extra fixes for IE9. I have to say though, since IE9 can be considered outdated and not W3C compatible anymore, it is wasted effort to work around its shortcomings.

Newer IE versions, Edge and most of all reference browsers like Firefox work fine and we rather concentrate on W3C standards. I mean, that's what a standard is all about. Browser manufacturers need to be compliant to W3C, not the other way around.

In very specific cases, a browser fix a suitable, but IE9 is just to old.

I hope you understand. We try to keep the site as good as possible for all.
__________________
Best regards, George
George is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.