Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Site Forums > Comments, Suggestions and Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02. Jun 2010, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Lightbulb RamDisk

A suggestion: can someone to do a review RamDisk about? It seems that there is a lack in this software issue.

Somethink like:

* * * Best Free RamDisk * * *

majoMo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jun 2010, 05:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Copy Editor
 
torres-no-tan-magnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 804
Default

Data Ramdisk is highly rated: http://www.xxxxxxxxxxx/blog/archives/...se-in-ramdisk/

I know it's not a review but it gives some help with using the aforementioned.
__________________
(Mx16 + Cx1 + Lx2) + (Tx5 + Nx2 + Bx33)
torres-no-tan-magnifico is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jun 2010, 02:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torresmagnifico View Post
Data Ramdisk is highly rated: http://www.xxxxxxxxxxx/blog/archives/...se-in-ramdisk/

I know it's not a review but it gives some help with using the aforementioned.
I clicked on the link you provided and it brought up a page on how to load firefox faster by placing your profile on a ramdisk. Sounds great. I followed the instructions and tried and tried and tried and tried again. wouldn't work. Firefox would create a new profile and failed to load the one on the newly completed ramdisk
Would love to be able to get firefox to load faster. As it is it takes 12 to 15 seconds to load. I can live with it.
Oh by the way I backed up firefox before trying this and I'm glad I did

PS: DataRam is highly regarded from what I can see.

Cheers
Wdhpr
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jun 2010, 12:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 65
Default

I did the bit of loading FF from ramdisk. It's best to use FF portable version. Even though you can use DataRam feature to save the contents of the image, it's faster and easier just to use the xcopy batch file on start up to copy the contents of the FF portable folder into the ram disk.

I abandoned that though after trying Chrome variants. I started with Iron browser, then just went to the google Chrome 6.0.4.22.0 latest development version. It runs multiple exe files and loads off the HD very fast, even if the HD is under load. I went through the RamDisk FF bit because it drove me crazy if I was in the middle of a video mux, and didn't happen to have FF open. I had to wait about a minute for FF to load off the drive.

Chrome just gets up and goes. It doesn't have as many AddOns or extensions as FF yet, but you don't need as many. I'm using 6 for multi tab management, bookmark and password sync(without using a google account or you could use the built-in sync) etc... whereas I used to run at least a dozen(not counting themes) in FF.. for the same experience.

If you are paranoid about google tracking the Chrome forum has a link to a small utility that removes the unique ID from your installation.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jun 2010, 02:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wdhpr View Post
I clicked on the link you provided and it brought up a page on how to load firefox faster by placing your profile on a ramdisk. Sounds great. I followed the instructions and tried and tried and tried and tried again. wouldn't work. Firefox would create a new profile and failed to load the one on the newly completed ramdisk
Would love to be able to get firefox to load faster. As it is it takes 12 to 15 seconds to load. I can live with it.
Oh by the way I backed up firefox before trying this and I'm glad I did

PS: DataRam is highly regarded from what I can see.

Cheers
Wdhpr
Make sure you follow all of the instructions, especially setting IsRelative to 0. That's not shown in the animation for some reason.
J_L is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jun 2010, 06:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,468
Default

I know were a little off topic here....But oh well

MilesAhead
Quote:
I abandoned that though after trying Chrome variants. I started with Iron browser, then just went to the google Chrome 6.0.4.22.0 latest development version.
Chrome and it's variants have a good reputation for performance and speed. I just can't live without my Roboform and a few other select add-ons. I'm sure I could get by without having all 19 of them

J.L.
Quote:
Make sure you follow all of the instructions, especially setting IsRelative to 0. That's not shown in the animation for some reason.
Thanks. I did catch that. and no It didn't make a difference
I think running the Portable version of FF on the ram disk would be a cleaner option.

Cheers everyone
Wdhpr
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06. Jun 2010, 01:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 65
Default

The thing that held me back is I have my own ftp site. I wanted to use that, like I can with SyncPlaces. But it's worth it for the speed. I don't want to go back to drumming my fingers on the desk waiting for the FF window to show. Besides, they are all going multi-process to compete. Might as well get with the one that's been doing it that way.

I hope either SyncPlaces is ported to Chrome or FF is close enough to being Chrome that it's a distinction without a difference.

Anyway, back to the topic, if you use the XCopy scheme to load FF off the portable FF folder into the Ram Disk, then you can use any ram disk that lets you assign a drive letter.
MilesAhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2