Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Debating Chamber > ChitChat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22. Dec 2009, 10:31 PM   #21 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 129
Default

Damn the internet. I just typed up a couple of paragraphs and my satellite internet had a drop out as I posted it and lost the lot

deya, love your new avatar but sorry to hear your Amiga won't do much. Sounds like it might not be too bad if you can still get a picture on your screen :crossfingers:

wdhpr thanks for the link. I've done a lot of searching over the years and ended up at sites where people complained the version they found didn't work so I never downloaded it. I've just had a blast from the past with your link though.THANKYOU! It's a shame the window is so small and the graphics become pixelated when enlarged. Also a shame about the sound. Does anyone know what the (win/s) means in the following dialogue that pops up when you try to turn on sound?
"Digitized sounds are not available in Enhanced mode due to the nature of preemptive multitasking. Use standard mode (win/s) to allow for digitized sounds."?
miskairal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Dec 2009, 01:00 AM   #22 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
Does anyone know what the (win/s) means in the following dialogue that pops up when you try to turn on sound?
Wasn't able to figure it out either

I tried various options by right clicking the chess.exe file from there you can click on properties and then the compatibility tab and from there you can try various windows versions, and display settings. Problem is, its a windows exe file and your options are limited.

However
If you download the the dos version and run it through DosBox you can have your sound and improve your display.http://www.dosbox.com/
There is a front end loader called DOG that makes configuring the setup for DosBox easier. It can be found here: http://www.freewebs.com/erikgg/
With DosBox and DOG I have been able to get many old dos games to work. Allot of the old Amiga games were also adapted for windows. I have been able to get Frontier/Elite, EOB 1,2,&3, as well as Battle Chess to work and they play pretty well.
After starting the game with DOG you can adjust the frame rate in the DosBox window by pressing ctrl and tapping f11 & F12 to get it to play smoothly. Each game is different so I find out what works best then I go back and make it the default setting in the DOG loader. Well I don't want to get long winded.
Hope this helps

Cheers and Merry Christmas
Wdhpr

Last edited by wdhpr; 23. Dec 2009 at 01:04 AM.
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Dec 2009, 01:42 AM   #23 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Can't remember whether it was the Atari or the Amiga that had the built in midi ports? But, in terms of pop music, that was the birthplace of the bedroom studio? That lead on to all sorts of pop culture developments from acid house onwards.
shruggy63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Dec 2009, 04:46 AM   #24 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miskairal View Post
Damn the internet. I just typed up a couple of paragraphs and my satellite internet had a drop out as I posted it and lost the lot
You can try Lazarus or Textarea Cache (also available as a userscript).
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Dec 2009, 05:20 AM   #25 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 129
Default

J.L. are you trying to get me to use FF
Thanks for the links, this might be the icing on the cake that makes me tip over to using FF again.

wdhpr, thankyou for all that info. I'm not so game to go mucking around with DOS stuff though because once, a long time ago, it rendered my computer unbootable. Don't know what I did wrong. Add to that I don't know the DOS commands. I have saved the links though and will try it out on this computer when I get a new one next year.

Thankyou and Merry Christmas to you too.
miskairal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23. Dec 2009, 05:55 AM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wdhpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The north Coast
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
wdhpr, thankyou for all that info. I'm not so game to go mucking around with DOS stuff though because once, a long time ago, it rendered my computer unbootable. Don't know what I did wrong. Add to that I don't know the DOS commands. I have saved the links though and will try it out on this computer when I get a new one next year.
Thank you for your kind remarks

The great thing about this forum is that others can also view this. I hope that my means of enjoyment can help others as well... Besides allot of old geezers out there

Merry Christmas to you as well

Cheers
Wdhpr
wdhpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24. Dec 2009, 01:51 AM   #27 (permalink)
J_L
Co-Author, Best Free Security List
 
J_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miskairal View Post
J.L. are you trying to get me to use FF
Thanks for the links, this might be the icing on the cake that makes me tip over to using FF again.
Not necessarily, but that's all I can find for this type of program (admittedly, I was searching for something that works for my Firefox).
The userscript might work for other browsers. What I don't like about it is that it prompts you every time to restore on the same textarea, ex. Gizom's reply box, which I find annoying.
J_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.