Have you noticed how companies like to persuade you to sign up for regular payments and automatic renewals? When you register a domain name, for example, it's generally set to renew automatically. It's the same with online music services, software subscriptions, insurance, phone plans, and so on.
Assuming that you still continue to use or need the service you paid for, this can be very convenient. But if you don't, and you neglect to cancel the arrangement, you can end up paying for things that you don't need.
If you have a PayPal account, here's a tip that can save you money. Log into your account and go to the section for Pre-Approved Payments. This will show you details of any company which, in the past, you've granted permission to take money from your account on a regular basis. Check it out, and you might be surprised what's on the list. It'll show you all the companies you've authorized, and how much money they can take each time.
Even if a particular company's entry is shown as a zero amount, this isn't a guarantee that you're safe. If the entry is listed as active, they can still return to your account at a later date.
So take a couple of minutes and look at your set of Pre Approved Payments. If there are any that you no longer need, cancel them. You can do it by clicking on each one and choosing the cancel option. Just make sure you don't accidentally cancel something you really need, such as an ongoing insurance policy or phone subscription.
Please rate this article: