If you, or someone you know, has signed up with the Livedrive cloud storage network then there's something you need to know. Livedrive has started closing people's accounts without warning. Not everyone's account, of course. Just a few. And when those people contact the company to ask why, they're told that they were breaching the terms of their "umlimited storage" package by, er, storing too much stuff.
If this happens to you, and you make a fuss, Livedrive will restore your access in order that you can retrieve any important data. However, in the experience of a couple of friends of mine, this access has its bandwidth throttled to such a degree that it is virtually impossible to download anything. So your files are pretty much lost.
So if you're a user of Livedrive and you've backed up some important data to the service recently, make sure that the remote backup isn't your only copy.
Please rate this article: