Gizmos Freeware Reviews  

Go Back   Gizmo's Freeware Forum > Freeware Forum > Software Suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28. Dec 2011, 06:59 AM   #21 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks MC, I'll contribute to that as soon as I have time, I can add some more info about wrappers!

I didn't know if everyone realized that Toolwiz had pulled their own download & only linked to CNet which was done right around the time this thread started. I assumed you guys would all know about CNet's wrapper but added the warning for the benefit of any new/casual readers. I've learned with my own forums not to assume what my readers know about

Last edited by OldTabby; 28. Dec 2011 at 07:05 AM. Reason: syntax
OldTabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02. Jan 2012, 09:22 PM   #22 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 654
Default

Toolwiz released version 1.2.0.120 of TF today.

From the page;
Added float toolbar to show protection mode.
Remove the free limitation. Now it is free for any users.
... which I thought it already was?

I did the update, ran it and the toolbar can be activated by checking a box in the GUI. It displays at the top of the screen 'Frozen Mode' [or words to that effect] and can be dragged around to anywhere that suits you.

I ran the TimeFreeze for a while, installed a few bits and pieces, re-booted and they were all gone so it worked on that score. But then the system began crashing when opening and running programs, it seemed a bit buggy beforehand and I noticed a few slowdowns - browsers etc, unlike with the previous version.

Re-booted a few times, same thing carried on. Blue screens, memory dumps, re-starts. So I uninstalled TimeFreeze and everything was back to normal.

Good to see it being developed but this version doesn't work [for me] as well as the previous one, so I'll wait and see if they release another version in the future and maybe try it again.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2012, 04:26 AM   #23 (permalink)
Site Manager
 
MidnightCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South American Banana Republic, third bunch from the left
Posts: 12,934
Default

Thanks for the update deya.

Seems to have lost some stability and reverted very much to a work in progress status. Considering the depths this type of program needs to go to inside your system, the coding really does need to be spot on to avoid conflicts. That said, another system might react very differently and give less trouble. Hopefully they will be able to iron out this latest batch of bugs as the concept behind the software is excellent.
__________________
In love with life and desktops
MidnightCowboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2012, 09:06 AM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 654
Default

Agreed, it might react differently on another system. And it may be because I did an over the top installation, as opposed to a fresh install. So I intend to try that later on today when I have the time.

The thing I noticed with this version, compared to the previous one, was that clicking on the start menu button sometimes caused the desktop to lock briefly. Initial opening of browsers was slower and it took longer for the browser home pages to load, although this did speed up after a while. That didn't happen with the previous version.

For some reason, the system crashed when opening an older version of Maxthon 3, it did that several times so I uninstalled M3, but then it started to happen when opening the latest version of Lunascape - it didn't crash when opening FF or Opera.

It was just a general bugginess about the whole system when TF was running, slight lag when opening things and the brief lock ups. I'd been using the previous version with none of that happening. Once TF was uninstalled it was all back to normal, programs opened in a snap etc, no screen locks and no more crashes.

TF works, definitely. You can download and install whatever you like but on re-boot it's all gone, back to normal, no traces. I think it's great for such a small program, and for free.

I'll try it again, like I said, and see what happens.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2012, 06:51 PM   #25 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Hi @ deya, no annoyances here (fresh install).

Toolbar on Desktop for Frozen Mode is useful to not forget it is in virtualized mode.
Kissol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2012, 07:20 PM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 654
Default

Hi, Kissol - thanks for that, and I agree about the Frozen Mode toolbar. I've done a fresh install as well, here's what I experienced - you'd best get a coffee before you start reading it though - and apologies to everyone else for the long post.

I did a fresh install of Toolwiz and have been running it today. Just to say again, so everyone is clear, I'm testing TWTF on Windows XP Home, SP3, 32 bit, fully updated and patched. The machine is an old one, a spare, so whether this has anything to do with what I'm experiencing while running Toolwiz TF, I can't be sure. What I will state though, is that the machine runs perfectly on a daily basis and with no crashes, ever, in or out of virtual when using another [commercial] TimeFreeze. In other words, the machine is clean, works absolutely fine and is never a problem.

Also, whether having two TimeFreeze programs installed on the same system causes some kind of conflict between the two, I'm not sure. However, as far as I'm aware these programs are designed to run as stand alone applications and can be opened, closed, or stopped from running at boot easily. So, providing each one is completely shut down and is stopped from running, then they should work, without conflict, independently of each other. Someone with more knowledge on virtualization please correct me if I'm wrong on that point.

After completely shutting down the [commercial] TimeFreeze I again installed the latest version of Toolwiz TimeFreeze, re-booted as requested and then started the TWTF. This time, unlike yesterday, I haven't experienced the frequent screen locks when using the start menu button and overall the system ran smoothly while in the TF - one or two little freezes, but nothing major.

I then opened and ran all the installed programs on the machine, imaging, audio, scanners, clean-up tools, etc, etc. All opened and ran fine, no problems. I then opened each browser installed on the machine, here's what happened;

Firefox Aurora - opened and ran perfect, installed an update, re-started. Fine.
IE8 - opened and ran perfect. No problem.
Opera 11.60 - opened and ran perfect. Downloaded some software with it. Fine.
Lunascape 6.5.8 - opened and ran fine, unlike yesterday. The browser worked perfect.
Maxthon 3.3.2.2000 - the latest version, on opening it the machine crashed.
SRWare Iron - older version, on opening it the machine crashed.

Each time the machine crashed it gave the FLTMNGR_FILE_SYSTEM blue screen. Each time the machine rebooted and started up without a problem, no issues, same as it did yesterday.

Uninstalled the older version of Iron - rebooted. Started Toolwiz TF again and used Opera to download Google Chrome, ran the install but the machine crashed before the browser installed, same again, blue screen, memory dump, then restarted fine.

Tried the same thing again, only this time with the latest version of Iron, which installed fine, but on opening the browser the machine crashed once more.

Repeated the exact same process, this time with Blackhawk and went through the exact same scenario as it did with Iron, the browser installed but on opening it the machine crashed.

I then download and installed Opera Next [12] which worked fine, it then opened and ran perfect. No problems at all.

So the problems I'm experiencing are when I try to install or run browsers that use WebKit, or in the case of Maxthon 3 use WebKit as default engine. Whether this happens on other machines or systems, I don't know. But I would be interested to know. Maybe it's just this machine and I'm quite happy to accept that if that's the case.

During the course of today, when time permitted, I've downloaded and installed several programs. Imaging, audio, all kinds of stuff. Again I've trashed images using image editors, deleted files, mp3's etc, all within the TimeFreeze. Messed up the desktop, you name it. But every time I've rebooted the machine everything is back in it's place, the deleted files are back in their folders, images were back to their original state, no traces of installed programs. Toolwiz TF works perfect in that respect for me. The only problem being the WebKit browsers.

After all this I shut down TWTF completely, stopped it from running and then restarted the commercial TF. Took care to go through the exact same procedure with each of the problem browsers, they all installed, opened, and ran perfectly. No problem at all, no crashes and the machine flies - just like it usually does.

That's where I'm at, TWTF is still installed and I'll continue to try it, without using Maxthon 3 or any other Chromium based browser. I noticed in the EULA that Toolwiz offer no support for the program, which is fair enough seeing as how it's free. So it looks like I'm relying on any other feedback on here, or others experiences with using it.

So, anymore thoughts anyone?
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03. Jan 2012, 11:26 PM   #27 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Default

@ deya, also "Windows XP Home, SP3, 32 bit" here (not "fully updated and patched" though ). Changed from Maxthon to Opera 11.60 since Maxthon didn't work well some time ago - crashed several times (without Toolwiz TF then).

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
Each time the machine crashed it gave the FLTMNGR_FILE_SYSTEM blue screen.
Typical BSOD when using File Protection feature; in another Forum a post about:
Code:
BTW, be carefull when choosing the protected folder;
system folders should not be protected never ('My Documents' also IMO):
a BSOD could comes out with a 'fltMgr.sys' file source.
@ deya, please be sure you aren't using File Protection feature.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
I noticed in the EULA that Toolwiz offer no support for the program
You are right; however you can post your questions in their forum: their support can be delayed - but I'm checking the forum sometimes and they support members ever.

P.S.: I'm doing this post in "Frozen Mode"...
Kissol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jan 2012, 01:06 AM   #28 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
Also, whether having two TimeFreeze programs installed on the same system causes some kind of conflict between the two, I'm not sure. However, as far as I'm aware these programs are designed to run as stand alone applications and can be opened, closed, or stopped from running at boot easily. So, providing each one is completely shut down and is stopped from running, then they should work, without conflict,
I think having both programs installed at the same time might be what caused your troubles. I know WTF warns when installing if you have a similar program already and according to WTF support, they will conflict with each other if both are installed at the same time.

"Note: If you have installed the similar recovery software, you'd better uninstall it before installing Time Freeze. Or the programs may conflict with each other."
http://support.wondershare.com/time-...reeze2000.html

Either that or protecting system files, as mentioned by Kissol, is probably crashing TTF.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04. Jan 2012, 07:40 PM   #29 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
deya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 654
Default

Thanks for that Kissol, and you're right. I had file protection enabled. It's working fine now, although I'm still a bit puzzled because I'm sure I'd been running it like that previously with no issues, and I still can't work out why it only affected the browsers I mentioned. Anyway, never mind I'll work it out, main thing is it's running very well now. No more crashes.

Bo; Thanks for the link and the info. I'm wondering if they mean having them running together, as opposed to just having them both installed, but not actually running together, you know? - like you have both the other TF program installed as well as Sandboxie, at least I think you do. Is that not the same? ... two virtual programs basically. I'm not disagreeing or anything, you know more about this virtual stuff than me, just curious.

If you look in the program files folders of each of the two TimeFreeze programs I have, in the Toolwiz one there's hardly anything there, a start-up icon and an uninstaller, that's it. I know it doesn't start the protection at boot-up like the other one does and doesn't have as many settings, but even so, Toolwiz does a heck of a lot for such a tiny program.

Not had as much time today, but when I have had I've been using TWTF and have to say ( now that I'm using it properly ) it works really well for trying different software and stuff. No different to the commercial one in that respect. I'm still intrigued.

Thanks again to both of you.
deya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05. Jan 2012, 03:07 AM   #30 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
bo.elam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deya View Post
Bo; Thanks for the link and the info. I'm wondering if they mean having them running together, as opposed to just having them both installed, but not actually running together, you know? - like you have both the other TF program installed as well as Sandboxie, at least I think you do. Is that not the same? ... two virtual programs basically. I'm not disagreeing or anything, you know more about this virtual stuff than me, just curious.
I think they mean installed.

Both programs, TimeFreeze and SBIE, are used for virtualizing something but they are not the same, Sandboxie is used for virtualizing/sandboxing applications and TF virtualizes the whole system. I guess is reasonable to think that there could be a conflict between SBIE and TF but I have never had any trouble between them. I use both programs for different purpose but when I have used them together, its been perfect.


When I installed WTF, the install did not warn me about having to uninstall SBIE but I am pretty sure that if I had TTF, Returnil or some other system virtualization program already installed, I would have been warned by WTF about having to uninstall those programs. To me, it does not seem like a good idea to have 2 system virtualization programs installed at the same time.

Bo
bo.elam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2